Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

PN optical modulator

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am a student in TUD and I have started to work with COMSOL. My task is to model and simulate PN silicon optical modulator.
I am using Semiconductor module. I have couple of questions I would highly appreciate if you help me with that.

My structure consists of p+, p, n and n+ regions I am using metal contacts on p+ and n+ regions and applying voltage. I have also added "Trap assisted recombination" and "Auger recombination" physics. Do I need some more physics ?

1) I am a bit confused with the doping profiles in COMSOL. Currently I am using Analytic doping profile and using "user defined" distribution for all the parts in my structure. Is this correct approach ?

2) I need also to calculate the resistance and capacitance of my structure. Is it possible with comsol ? if yes how can I do that ?

3) I need to extract carrier distribution in txt file. So I am doing it from 2D figure and I have x y and value(color). But I would like to control x and y. I mean to say I want for example 1000 x and 500 y. Is it possible ?

Thank you in advance.
Best regards,
Levon

2 Replies Last Post Aug 16, 2017, 12:46 a.m. EDT
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Levon Mirzoyan

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 7 years ago Jun 5, 2017, 3:17 a.m. EDT
Hello Levon,

It seems that you are working on the optical modulator using COMSOL for quite a long time and has gained sufficient experience on it...