Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Hollow cylindrical optical cavity

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm fairly new to COMSOL, I was trying to model the optical modes in a hollow silica cylinder - which is easy enough to do with PEC boundaries, but I was hoping to see the modes in the presence of a surrounding air atmosphere. I was hoping there was a simple way to set up the equivalent of an infinite air domain surrounding it. Setting up a small air boundary around the cylinder causes problems because there's modes within the air cavity, setting up a very large domain causes problems with meshing and solving time.

Advice greatly appreciated.

-I tried to attach the file but I was given a file size error

15 Replies Last Post Dec 31, 2010, 4:30 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 21, 2010, 2:21 a.m. EST
Hi
first of all to attach files, clear them from the solution eventually also the mesh (no problem in v.4) and do a reset model, then you should have no difficulties to upload it. OK we wouldneed to resolve it cannot have everything ;)

in RF you have the PML isnt that enough (V4.1 at least) ?

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi first of all to attach files, clear them from the solution eventually also the mesh (no problem in v.4) and do a reset model, then you should have no difficulties to upload it. OK we wouldneed to resolve it cannot have everything ;) in RF you have the PML isnt that enough (V4.1 at least) ? -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 21, 2010, 8:33 p.m. EST
Thanks, I've attached the file