Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

rectangular spiral coil

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi
I have modelled circular spiral coils placed at a distance in Z direction in 2-D and i calculated Mutual inductance by taking the help of MI and induced currents in a coil group application.Now i want to do for rectangular(or square) spiral coils.I have modelled circular spiral coils by taking 2-D axisymmetric and representing each turn by circle.I am not getting how to model rectangular(or square) spiral coils in 2-D.
I am new to comsol. i am thankful to someone who clarify my problem

6 Replies Last Post Oct 17, 2016, 10:49 a.m. EDT
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 8 years ago Oct 6, 2016, 11:24 a.m. EDT
Rectangular spiral coils cannot be modeled in 2D. This is a 3D problem.

DW Greve
Rectangular spiral coils cannot be modeled in 2D. This is a 3D problem. DW Greve

Posted: 8 years ago Oct 7, 2016, 12:49 a.m. EDT
Thank you sir for your valuable suggestion.
Still now i am thinking Rectangular spiral coils can be modelled in 2-D.Now i will try for 3-D.
Thank you sir for your valuable suggestion. Still now i am thinking Rectangular spiral coils can be modelled in 2-D.Now i will try for 3-D.

Posted: 8 years ago Oct 9, 2016, 2:31 p.m. EDT

by taking 2-D axisymmetric

I agree with the first reply. Seems like a 3D problem. About what axis of rotation do you think your square coil and associated fields are symmetric?

[QUOTE] by taking 2-D axisymmetric [/QUOTE] I agree with the first reply. Seems like a 3D problem. About what axis of rotation do you think your square coil and associated fields are symmetric?

Posted: 8 years ago Oct 14, 2016, 8:43 a.m. EDT
about Z axis coils are symmetric and placed at a distance apart
about Z axis coils are symmetric and placed at a distance apart

Nirmal Paudel COMSOL Employee