Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Incident wave

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
I am new to COMSOL, i have been trying to do a simulation following a paper. The geometry shown in the paper is attached below. In this geometry as you can see the incident wave is coming from right side and from free space. I do not know how to incident a wave from free space. What i have been doing " I made a rectangular box around this geometry then set the port boundary condition on right side and scattering boundary condition on the remaining sides. However, i am not getting the desired result as mentioned in this paper. I have feeling that may be the way of setting the port boundary condition is wrong. But i do not know how to incident a wave from space as shown in the below figure.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.

1 Reply Last Post Dec 2, 2016, 3:31 p.m. EST
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 7 years ago Dec 2, 2016, 3:31 p.m. EST
Consider using the "scattered field" formalism in the RF module.
In the Model Builder, click on "Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain (emw)"
In the Settings, Solve-for, click on that and choose "Scattered field" instead of "Full field."
Now you can specify a "background electric field" as an incident plane wave.

I could go on, but that should be enough to get you started. The help system and example scattering models may also be of use to you. Good luck.