Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Geometric shape order

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am pretty new to comsol, so this question might be little bit basic. On the other hand, googling and using the help function didnt really help.

I tried meshing a sphere with different elements. There seem to be two options to influence the element order. One is the option "Geometry shape order", that appears when clicking on the component in the Model Builder.
The other option appears when clicking on the physical problem (in my case Heat Transfer in Solids).

Does this mean that the geometric shape function of an element is in Comsol independent from the function used to approximate the physical quantity?

Whats also confusion to me, is that when changing any of the two options, the mesh doesnt change. When changing from linear to quadratic shape, there should, in my opinion, appear mid nodes, probably located on the surface of the described solid?

Or am I wrong, and the geometric shape order is not related to the shape order of the finite element, but an option for the surface representation in comsol?

Thanks for your help!

Cheers,

Daniel

6 Replies Last Post Jul 19, 2017, 7:32 a.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 7 years ago Jul 18, 2017, 9:00 a.m. EDT
Hello Daniel,
You are correct in your guess: in COMSOL, you can specify the orders for the geometry representation and for the solution representation ("discretization order") separately. In other words, elements are not necessarily isoparametric.
This has a bunch of benefits, including the fact that you can use different discretization orders for different physics in a single model.

When an order strictly greater than 1 is used for the solution, nodes that are not at the vertices of elements are not shown on screen, but they are there.
Best,