Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Interpolation of geometry according to chosen element type

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol and have a basic question.

When modeling a curved geometry (solid mechanics) meshed with a coarse mesh with linear interpolation, the curved parts gets edgy due to the limited number of elements. To fix this, I would like to choose a higher order of interpolation, i.e. cubic serendipity or lagrange elements. I do this under 'Discretization' under the Solid Mechanics node.
However, it seems that I can only achieve this for the displacement field alone, which leaves me with an edgy geometry, with only the displacements interpolated. I would like the intermediate nodes of the elements to be fitted to the geometry according to the shape functions defined by the element. How do I achieve this?

David

6 Replies Last Post Sep 13, 2017, 2:31 a.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 7 years ago Sep 11, 2017, 10:54 a.m. EDT
Hi David,
When higher order elements are used, the intermediate nodes are in fact fitted to the curved boundaries although they are displayed as if their edges were straight. I believe it's to make the rendering faster.
Best,
Jeff
Hi David, When higher order elements are used, the intermediate nodes are in fact fitted to the curved boundaries although they are displayed as if their edges were straight. I believe it's to make the rendering faster. Best, Jeff

Posted: 7 years ago Sep 12, 2017, 3:23 a.m. EDT
Hi Jeff,

Thank you for the swift reply.
Is there a way to bypass this feature? For my application purposes I usually prefer to use fewer higher order elements rather than a lot of lower level elements, however it's quite difficult to assess wether the mesh is fine enough, if I cannot see how the elements fit the geometry...