Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Tracking displacement on a thermal actuator after remove voltage source

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new in comsol. Now, I am trying to simulate displacement of a thermal actuator under 5V. I am using the time-dependent modal. I can get results of stress, displacement, and temperature. However, I would like to konw how to study the displacement after I removed the 5V volatge source. For example, I want to apply 5V for 1s then turn it off. For a time-dependent study, I would like to know what will happen within 2s (0-1s, 5V; 1-2s, 0V). How to set this condition in comsol. My comsol model is attached.

Thanks,

Charlie

3 Replies Last Post Aug 20, 2018, 3:10 a.m. EDT

Posted: 6 years ago Aug 17, 2018, 5:25 a.m. EDT

Hi,

I think you need to consider t variable which means time.

And, to consider the continuous electric potential, I think it is better to use Step function in Definitions > Functions.

I attached a sample model.

Thanks.

Hi, I think you need to consider **t** variable which means time. And, to consider the continuous electric potential, I think it is better to use Step function in Definitions > Functions. I attached a sample model. Thanks.

Posted: 6 years ago Aug 17, 2018, 10:05 a.m. EDT

Hello Kim,