Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

chemical reaction, concentration reaches zero

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm new to this forum, but I hope that anyone of you can help me... :) Because I'm a chemical engineer I might be

using expressions which some of you don't understand. But since PDE's are the same in different branches of sciences

feel free to ask if you don't understand any of it. I'll explain them.

I'm trying to model a single channel where the wall is covered by a small layer of a porous washcoat (Al2O3). In the

washcoat there's a catalyst deposited. So the reaction only takes place in the washcoat. My problem is the rate of

reaction.
As you can see it's an 'advanced' type of expression (Hougen-Watson type, not a simple power law; please ignore the dots in nom and denom):

........k*K1*K2^2*p1^0.5*p2
r = -----------------------------------
.....(1+K1*p1^0.5+K2*p2^0.5)^3

where: k: temperature dependent constant
K1: temperature dependent constant
K2: temperature dependent constant
p1: partial pressure component 1
p2: partial pressure component 2

I get an error when an educt-concentration reaches zero. I have tried a lot of things (e.g. multiplied the reaction

rate with a constant, compute the solution, raise the constant, recompute with actual solution as initial value; or

refining the mesh; or adding certain types of artificial diffusion; or logical operators (c>0)....)
Additionally the reaction is very exothermic, which imposes some effects like acceleration of the reaction with

Temperature and limitation of the conversion due to thermodynamical reasons at higher temperatures.