Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

A Simple Model for Forces of a Loudspeaker Driver?

Andrea Michael Cozzolino

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, i'm a Wood Engineering Student and i'd like to be able to model loudspeaker enclosures as function of the mechanical coupling of the speaker driver(s) to the enclosure itself. I know there's also acoustical coupling, i prefer to keep things as simple as possible at the beginning. Now, i do have some knowledge about speakers since i built many systems in the past, with the help of other softwares like Leap. I'd like to use Comsol for this study, and i'm sure it is possible. I went through the Model Examples, there are a few about loudspeakers.. But i was wondering if i could create a simpler model in which i would define just the main parameters of the driver (thiele/small) and an input voltage, in order to create a mechanical frequency domain signal that i would use as source for mechanical stress (forces) in a given point of the loudspeaker (in my case, the flange where the driver would be fixed).
From here, as second step, i would like to use a geometry for the basket of the driver, assigning to it the material in order to include some of the damping of the driver.

Just to be clear, my goal is to analyse different materials and geometries for the loudspeaker enclosures.. therefore it would be (at least at the beginning) sufficient to have a simplified model for the mechanical stress induced by the driver. I'm looking forward to learn how to use Comsol for more accurate simulations about this, since it's going to be my job, in the future.

Thanks for the help in advance, greetings from Bavaria

A.