Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Levitating Ring Magnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone i am new to COMSOL and trying to plot distribution of force on a permanent ring magnet levitating over another at certain height, i am using AC/DC module =>magnetic field no currents and using 2-D axisymmetric geometry. i gave equal but opposite magnetization to the magnets, now i am confuse how to use weight of levitatiing magnet in calculation of net force. Kindly help me how to get magnetic forces due to both magnet and weight of lifted magnet also net force(magnetic +gravitational ) acting on magnet it.

3 Replies Last Post Mar 12, 2020, 7:03 a.m. EDT
Lars Dammann COMSOL Employee

Posted: 4 years ago Mar 11, 2020, 10:59 a.m. EDT

Hi, you may find this example model interesting: https://www.comsol.com/model/an-electrodynamic-levitation-device-14221

You can compute the force on one magnet using a Force Calculation node. The above mentioned model uses that as well. Here is another, easier model that shows how to use Force Calculation: https://www.comsol.com/model/permanent-magnet-78

Both of these models are also part of the Application Library. Please find File > Application Library in the menu in COMSOL Multiphysics and find the models AC/DC > Verification Examples > electrodynamic_levitation_device and AC/DC Module > Magnetostatics > permanent_magnet

Best regards, Lars