Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Particles disappear after releasing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I am facing a problem in my model that I've dealing for teh past weeks and connot solve. I am new at COMSOL so any help will be well received.

Basically, I want to model a non uniform particle distribution inside an adhesive joint, having a higher particle concentration in the middle of the overlap area and less at both ends.

I consider iron microparticles, a polyurethane adhesive and aluminium substrates as the materials for this model. To move the particles I apply a magnetic field originated from a permanent magnet that is placed in the middle top of the joint.

In my model I used three modules: - AC/DC Mgnetic Fields, No Currents (mfnc) - to model the permanent magnet - Fluid Flow Single-Phase Flow Creeping or Laminar Flow (spf) - to model the adhesive - Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow (fpt) - to model and release the particles.

Basically, I set to release the particle inside the adhesive randomly at t=1s, but after at t=2s, for example, the particles disappear.... Maybe I have misread somthing or haven't included some parameter, but I can't figure it out...

If anyone can help, I would appreciate. I wanted to attached the model, but it is too big :( maybe via email can work.

Thanks in advance,

Kate

1 Reply Last Post May 21, 2020, 2:53 p.m. EDT

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 4 years ago May 21, 2020, 2:53 p.m. EDT

Hi Kate,

First off, you can reduce the size of your model by clearing all your solutions by right clicking on your study and clear solutions.