Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Stress on Silicon Wafer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I have a model of a silicon wafer with a labyrinth to thermally isolate the center from a section of the outside. I am wanting to know how strong the wafer will be. I initially set up a 3d model by importing a CAD file, but the degrees of freedom were too massive so i have switched to a 2D model so I could do calculations faster. However, it seems any mass placed on the chip center whatsoever causes a huge displacement, which I think has something to do with the dimensional units but I can't find out where I have gone wrong. Furthermore, the chip center is displacing in the direction opposite of where is should be (up instead of down). I am a self-taught COMSOL user and will try to answer questions as best I can, and I understand this is a simple problem so thank you for your time.

Marc

6 Replies Last Post Jun 18, 2020, 11:39 a.m. EDT
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 4 years ago Jun 12, 2020, 2:17 p.m. EDT

I don't see what you say you see. I see plausible displacements due to gravity in the right direction.

Try using the gravity node or try exerting point forces.

Be sure to activate geometric nonlinearity.

I don't see what you say you see. I see plausible displacements due to gravity in the right direction. Try using the gravity node or try exerting point forces. Be sure to activate geometric nonlinearity.

Posted: 4 years ago Jun 12, 2020, 5:00 p.m. EDT

That is strange, because when i plot the maximum and minimum displacement, is around 3 meters in the positive z direction, and I would expect the movement to be in the negative z direction. I have attached an image of my results.

Thank you again for your time, Marc