Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

MESH import almost successful

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all!

I am new to COMSOL and I would like to use it for a comparison with my Fluent and OpenFOAM results. I generated unstructured as well as structured meshes with ICEM. They are now in *.msh format. Due to the fact that COMSOL requires nastran files for instance, I converted the mesh to a *.nas file. COMSOL was then able to import it very quick, but when I want to set up the boundary conditions, all faces can not be selected (not applicable) to be inlet, outlet, etc.
Everything stays gray.

Another thing is when I try to start a simulation (all patches are walls by default), an error message occurs: "Problem setting up multigrid. Multigrid not supported on imported mesh. Error in multiphysics compilation."

Do you have any idea how I can solve those issues?
Thank you very much in advance.

7 Replies Last Post Apr 20, 2012, 8:40 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 19, 2012, 9:42 a.m. EDT
Hi,

Regarding the boundary problem, you'd better attach the comsol file to let other help you.

Regarding the multigrid solver, you may try to reduce the coarsening factor from 2 to 1.6 for example, or 1.4 or 1.2, however you first need to delete the temporary mesh the multigrid solver created otherwise you will get again that same error, you can find it under the mesh node, you will notice there is some strange mesh node.
However, changing the coarsening factor may influence the reliability of your solution, so may use a direct solver rather than a multigrid.

Cheers