Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Heat Transfer by Conduction

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!

I'm new to Comsol and I'm using Heat Transfer by Conduction. The setup is a piece of stainless steel in touch with another material. Now here come the two questions.

1. Right now I'm assigning to the piece of metal a constant temperature on the boundaries or rather a function with a linear increase to a constant value which will remain over time. But I've read in a paper that people instead assigned a value for Q (Heat source in subdomain) or a function for Q. I don't get the difference.

2. The simulation runs but I want to dislpay isotherms after the processing, i.e. to display a zone that is frozen. Is that possible?

Thank you in advance!
Flo

1 Reply Last Post Feb 4, 2010, 12:59 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 4, 2010, 12:59 a.m. EST
Hi

I can (again) insist: read carefully the documentation a couple of times and do the exercises, when you are a newcomer, I know it's more fun to try out your own cases, but you will progress quicker that way.

Anyhow I hop I can give you some replies: