Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Deflection of a microcantilever beam

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am a student of mechanical engg (M-tech) in NIT silchar, India. I am designing a microactuator in comsol multiphysics which is basically a cantilever consisting of three layers. Top layer is of 1 micrometer thick titanium layer, middle one is 2 micrometer thick silicon dioxide layer and bottom layer is of 3 micrometer thick polysilicon layer. When a voltage is applied across titanium layer, heat is produced because of joule heating effect and temperature of the cantilever rises. As different layers have different thermal expansion co-efficient, there is a deflection at the tip of free end. I am getting some deflection when applied voltage is less than 1.2 volt. But when is more than 1.2 volt, it doesn't yield any result. I dont under stand what is happening.
All layers having rectangular cross-section and one end of the cantilever is fixed
Length and width of the cantilever are 200 micrometer and 20 micrometer respectively.

1 Reply Last Post Feb 6, 2010, 5:41 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 6, 2010, 5:41 a.m. EST
Hi

as you describe it its "not normal" I agree. To debug such situations that rather indicates you have missed some meterial properties or BC (boundary conditions) you have several posibilities. I usually run a parameter analysis and check a few varaibles, and then look at the response of the others.