Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Moving Magnet and Changing Field Lines due to Hall Effect Sensor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi! I am new to COMSOL, and my task is to simulate changing magnetic field lines with respect to the distance between the magnet and Hall Effect sensor. Hall Effect sensor, in my case, is a semiconductor plate with an electric potential inside. I have finally found a way to move the magnet closer to the sensor (using the moving mesh). However, the magnetic lines seem to ignore the changed position of the magnet and stay on their initial place. Also, how can I make gradual change of magnet's position (and its field lines) with respect to time? So that that process can be shown in animation. For example, at second 1, the magnet is X mm away from the sensor and the field lines look like this; then at second 2, the magnet is closer to the sensor and the lines are like that; etc.

Sorry for the messy explanation, I hope that the screenshots make it clearer. Thank you!

3 Replies Last Post Jan 23, 2022, 10:57 a.m. EST
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 2 years ago Jan 22, 2022, 11:01 a.m. EST
Updated: 2 years ago Jan 22, 2022, 11:03 a.m. EST

Hi Valeriya,

this may be a frames issue. Check if you display the material frame or the spatial frame. For anything moving in the model you need to display in the spatial frame.

For a time dependent movement you add a time dependent mesh movement.

Out of curiosity, what impact of the hall sensor on the magnetic field are you expecting? Does the material have magnetic permeability different from 1? Or are you interested in induced current by the movement? In the latter case, if you have induced current in the model, you need to use a vector potential approach and you must properly set up the mixed formulation boundary.