Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Boundary Condition on coils cut into 1/4

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am simulating 4 circular multiturn coils, and the simulation works correctly when the coils are full loops. However, I want to simplify my geometry by cutting it into 1/4. I cut the geometry into 1/4, and my coils no longer do anything. I know that this is because they are no longer full loops; however, I am trying to use the boundary coniditions so that they are still considered to be full loops. I have tried the magnetic insulation boundary conidition and the perfect magnetic conductor boundary conidition and it still does not work. I am new to comsol so I am not sure if I am using the correct boundary coniditions or if I am using them correctly. I also tried adding a symmetry plane, but that is not even an option for me in my simulation.

I need these coils cut into 1/4 because once I get this working, I am going to add in my magnetic shield also cut into 1/4. The magnetic shield is already in the simulation, but it is just disabled for now. I tried running the simulation with the full loop coils and the full magnetic shield, and I would either get an error talking about not enough space on the RAM or the computation would just freeze and never complete. I believe that this is because the geometry is just too large/ has too many degrees of freedom and that I need to simplify it. Which is why I am trying to cut it into 1/4 and utilize boundary coniditions to get it working. When I cut it into 1/4, the simulation runs, but the coils are not doing what they are supposed to do.