粒子追踪模块

新 App:电荷交换单元仿真

电荷交换单元包括一个位于真空室内的压力相对较高的气体区域,当离子束与相对较高密度的气体发生作用时,离子会与气体发生电荷交换反应,产生高能中性粒子。通常离子束中只有部分离子会经历此电荷交换反应,因此,为了中和离子束,会在交换单元的外部安装一对带电偏转平板,这样,将能得到一个高能中性粒子源。

电荷交换单元仿真 App 模拟了质子束与包含中性氩原子的电荷交换单元间的相互作用。用户可输入气体单元与真空室的相关几何参数、束属性以及用于偏转剩余离子的带电平板的相关属性。

仿真 App 根据所产生的中性离子分数计算了电荷交换单元的效率,并统计了所发生的碰撞类型。

电荷交换单元仿真 App 的用户界面。 电荷交换单元仿真 App 的用户界面。

电荷交换单元仿真 App 的用户界面。

新 App:层流静态粒子混合器设计器

在静态混合器中,流体被泵入一个带有静止搅拌叶片的管道。因为层流只会产生很小的压力损失,这种混合技巧通常特别适用于层流混合。当流体被泵入管道时,截面叶片的方向不同,它们会沿管道的长度方向在流体流过时对其进行混合。静态混合技术能够精确地控制整个过程中的混合量。但混合器的性能会因几何的不同而有很大差异。

层流静态粒子混合器设计 App 计算了静态混合器中的流体速度及压力场,以及流体所运输粒子的轨迹。因为粒子有质量,不会严格按照流体速度流线前进,所以会有一些粒子撞击到 叶片。

示例 App 计算了混合器中粒子的通过概率,同时还计算了分散指数,即测量混合在一起的不同种类粒子的均匀性。

层流静态混合器中的流体速度场(箭头)以及截面上的剪切速率(切片图)。 层流静态混合器中的流体速度场(箭头)以及截面上的剪切速率(切片图)。

层流静态混合器中的流体速度场(箭头)以及截面上的剪切速率(切片图)。

层流静态混合器中的粒子轨迹。为了简化对混合性能的图形化表示,App 中仅渲染了部分粒子,并按照它们的初始位置着色。 层流静态混合器中的粒子轨迹。为了简化对混合性能的图形化表示,App 中仅渲染了部分粒子,并按照它们的初始位置着色。

层流静态混合器中的粒子轨迹。为了简化对混合性能的图形化表示,App 中仅渲染了部分粒子,并按照它们的初始位置着色。

从边、点上释放

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.2 版本新增从边释放从点释放 节点,分别支持从几何的边或点上释放粒子。当沿边释放粒子时,粒子的位置可以基于网格、根据用户定义的密度函数应用权重,或沿边的长度方向均匀分布。

现在支持沿任意曲线释放粒子,例如上图所示的螺旋。 现在支持沿任意曲线释放粒子,例如上图所示的螺旋。

现在支持沿任意曲线释放粒子,例如上图所示的螺旋。

新版本改进了 “基于密度释放“ 功能

基于密度释放功能可根据密度函数定义粒子的初始位置,新增的设定选项提升了设定精度。用户现在可以在释放,入口粒子束 以及从边释放 节点的设定窗口中指定 释放分布精度阶次位置细化因子。当底层网格为极端粗化网格,或者不同网格单元中粒子密度的变化很大时,精度提升的作用最为明显。

在网格中较粗时,采用高斯分布定义释放粒子的坐标。 位置细化因子通常为 10(红色)和 0(蓝色)之间,此因子越贴近10,粒子初始位置的分布越贴近指定的高斯分布。

在网格中较粗时,采用高斯分布定义释放粒子的坐标。 位置细化因子通常为 10(红色)和 0(蓝色)之间,此因子越贴近10,粒子初始位置的分布越贴近指定的高斯分布。

在网格中较粗时,采用高斯分布定义释放粒子的坐标。 位置细化因子通常为 10(红色)和 0(蓝色)之间,此因子越贴近10,粒子初始位置的分布越贴近指定的高斯分布。

电荷交换碰撞

新版本中,用户可以在碰撞 节点中新增两类碰撞类型:共振电荷交换非共振电荷交换

当高能离子与周围相同元素的中性原子或与包含相同物质的分子发生电荷交换反应时,可以使用 共振电荷交换 节点;当电离或中性物质是由不同元素或物质组成时,则使用 非共振电荷交换 特征。这两种情况都支持在碰撞后持续追踪电离物质、中性物质,或同时对它们进行追踪。

在电荷交换单元中,高能质子束(红色)通过一个压力高于周围环境的气体腔室(浅灰色)。所产生的电荷交换碰撞将产生高速中性氢离子(蓝色)和低速氩离子(绿色)。 在电荷交换单元中,高能质子束(红色)通过一个压力高于周围环境的气体腔室(浅灰色)。所产生的电荷交换碰撞将产生高速中性氢离子(蓝色)和低速氩离子(绿色)。

在电荷交换单元中,高能质子束(红色)通过一个压力高于周围环境的气体腔室(浅灰色)。所产生的电荷交换碰撞将产生高速中性氢离子(蓝色)和低速氩离子(绿色)。

粒子束功能在新版本中得到了增强

粒子束 特征新增的选项可以帮助用户指定横向位置及速度分布。新版本中,用户可以非常轻松地利用特性尺寸、形状与取向的相空间椭圆释放粒子束。方程显示也更为友好,用户可以通过图片更清楚地理解相关选项。

取样 方向 速度分布明细表 图像
均匀 直立 Twiss 参数
均匀 不直立 Twiss 参数
均匀 直立 椭圆尺寸
均匀 不直立 椭圆尺寸
Guassian 直立 Twiss 参数
Guassian 直立 Twiss 参数
Guassian 直立 椭圆尺寸
Guassian 不直立 椭圆尺寸

粒子计数器

粒子计数器 是一个域或边界特征,可以提供从一个粒子释放源释放的,到一组选定域或表面的粒子信息,包括发射粒子数、传送概率、传输束流、质量流率等等。COMSOL Multiphysics 5.2 版本新增的这一功能为用户提供了非常便利的结果表达式,可与粒子轨迹图的 过滤器 节点结合使用,只显示达到粒子计数器所选择区域或者边界的粒子。

粒子计数器特征提供了以下变量,并带有 < tag > 标签::

  • < tag >.Nfin
    释放特征发射并最终到达粒子计数器的粒子数量。
  • < tag >.Nsel
    释放特征向粒子计数器发射的粒子数量。
  • < tag >.alpha
    从释放特征到粒子计数器的传送概率。
  • < tag >.rL
    包含粒子的逻辑表达式。可以在粒子轨迹图的过滤器节点设定,以便图形化显示连接释放特征与计数器的粒子。
  • < tag >.It
    从释放特征到粒子计数器的传输束流。这一变量只在带电粒子追踪接口的粒子释放明细表设为指定电流时可用。
  • < tag >.mdott
    从释放特征到粒子计数器的质量流率。这一变量只在流体流动粒子追踪接口的粒子释放明细表设为指定质量流率时可用。

带电粒子追踪 接口中的粒子束特征中使用粒子计数器功能时,还可获得平均位置、速率以及发射粒子的能量等附加变量。

粒子-物质相互作用

您现在能够使用专用的 粒子-物质相互作用 特征模拟固体物质高能离子。针对不同种类的相互作用,本特征提供了两个子特征:

  • 电离损耗 用于模拟离子与目标材料中的电子发生相互作用时持续的能量损耗情况。
  • 核停止 用于模拟高能离子在目标核子影响下的偏转。

随着离子初始动能的增加,它们与固体材料的相互作用将主要为电离损耗,而非随机的核相互作用。因此高能离子倾向于沿近乎笔直的路径移动,次高能离子的前进路径将更加随机。 随着离子初始动能的增加,它们与固体材料的相互作用将主要为电离损耗,而非随机的核相互作用。因此高能离子倾向于沿近乎笔直的路径移动,次高能离子的前进路径将更加随机。

随着离子初始动能的增加,它们与固体材料的相互作用将主要为电离损耗,而非随机的核相互作用。因此高能离子倾向于沿近乎笔直的路径移动,次高能离子的前进路径将更加随机。

新教学模型:离子范围标准模型

离子范围标准模型模拟了高能质子通过硅片通道的过程,模拟了电离损耗与核散射。利用一个从 1 keV 到 100 MeV 的参数化扫描赋予质子不同的初始能量。

对比了质子的平均路径长度与连续减速近似法 (CSDA) 所发布的测量值,以及初始运动方向下投影射程。模拟结果与实验数据非常契合。

对比计算得到的路径长度(红色)、离子连续减速近似法 (CSDA) 下测量得到的离子范围,以及投影射程。 对比计算得到的路径长度(红色)、离子连续减速近似法 (CSDA) 下测量得到的离子范围,以及投影射程。

对比计算得到的路径长度(红色)、离子连续减速近似法 (CSDA) 下测量得到的离子范围,以及投影射程。

新教学模型:敏感性高分辨率离子微探针 (SHRIMP)

将入射离子束置于经调整的电和磁力下,敏感性高分辨率离子微探针 (SHRIMP) 负责传输给定初始能量和荷质比下的离子。离子束会首先通过一个带有径向电场力的曲边扇形,然后通过带有均匀磁通密度的第二个曲边扇形。

教程模型中用到了COMSOL Multiphysics® 中的粒子束特征,用于检测高精密度光谱仪的性能,最后仅有部分入射离子束可以传送到检测器。模型计算了传输概率,并图形化显示了传输离子束的标准轨迹。

SHRIMP 中的离子束先后受到了径向电场力(红色)及均匀磁通密度(蓝色)的影响。离子束的颜色显示了粒子的速度模。 SHRIMP 中的离子束先后受到了径向电场力(红色)及均匀磁通密度(蓝色)的影响。离子束的颜色显示了粒子的速度模。

SHRIMP 中的离子束先后受到了径向电场力(红色)及均匀磁通密度(蓝色)的影响。离子束的颜色显示了粒子的速度模。

Particle Tracing Module

New App: Charge Exchange Cell Simulator

A charge exchange cell consists of a region of gas at an elevated pressure within a vacuum chamber. When an ion beam interacts with the higher-density gas, the ions undergo charge exchange reactions with the gas, creating energetic neutral particles. It is likely that only a fraction of the beam ions will undergo charge exchange reactions. Therefore, in order to neutralize the beam, a pair of charged deflecting plates are positioned outside the cell. In this way, an energetic neutral source can be produced.

The Charge Exchange Cell Simulator app simulates the interaction of a proton beam with a charge exchange cell containing neutral argon. User input includes several geometric parameters for the gas cell and vacuum chamber, beam properties, and the properties of the charged plates that are used to deflect the remaining ions.

The simulation app computes the efficiency of the charge exchange cell, measured as the fraction of ions that are neutralized, and records statistics about the different types of collisions that occur.

User interface for the Charge Exchange Cell Simulator app. User interface for the Charge Exchange Cell Simulator app.

User interface for the Charge Exchange Cell Simulator app.

New App: Laminar Static Particle Mixer Designer

In static mixers, a fluid is pumped through a pipe containing stationary mixing blades. This mixing technique is well suited for laminar flow mixing, because it generates only small pressure losses in this flow regime. When a fluid is pumped through the channel, the alternating directions of the cross-sectional blades mix the fluid as it passes along the length of the channel. The static mixing technique allows for precise control over the amount of mixing that takes place throughout the process. However, the performance of the mixer can vary greatly, depending on its geometry.

The Laminar Static Particle Mixer Designer app computes the fluid velocity and pressure field in a static mixer, as well as the trajectories of particles that are carried by the fluid. Because the particles have mass, they do not follow the fluid velocity streamlines exactly, causing some particles to hit the mixing blades.

The example app computes the transmission probability of particles in the mixer. It also evaluates the index of dispersion, which is a measurement of the uniformity with which different species of particles are mixed together.

Fluid velocity field in the laminar static mixer (arrows) and shear rate in a cross section (slice plot). Fluid velocity field in the laminar static mixer (arrows) and shear rate in a cross section (slice plot).

Fluid velocity field in the laminar static mixer (arrows) and shear rate in a cross section (slice plot).

Particle trajectories in the laminar static mixer. To visualize the mixer performance more easily, only a fraction of the particles are rendered and they are colored according to their initial positions. Particle trajectories in the laminar static mixer. To visualize the mixer performance more easily, only a fraction of the particles are rendered and they are colored according to their initial positions.

Particle trajectories in the laminar static mixer. To visualize the mixer performance more easily, only a fraction of the particles are rendered and they are colored according to their initial positions.

Release from Edges and Points

With COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.2, the Release from Edge and Release from Point nodes can be used to release particles from edges and points in a geometry, respectively. When releasing particles along an edge, the particle positions can be mesh-based, weighted by a user-defined density function, or uniformly distributed along the edge length.

It is possible to release particles along an arbitrary curve, such as the helix shown above. It is possible to release particles along an arbitrary curve, such as the helix shown above.

It is possible to release particles along an arbitrary curve, such as the helix shown above.

Improved Density-Based Release

The release features that initialize particle position according to a density function have new settings that make them much more accurate. It is now possible to specify a Release distribution accuracy order and Position refinement factor in the settings for the Release, Inlet, and Particle Beam nodes as well as the new Release from Edge node. The improvement in accuracy is most noticeable when the underlying mesh is very coarse or the particle density varies significantly across different mesh elements.

Particles are released on a coarse mesh with a Gaussian distribution of initial coordinates. The distribution of particle positions more closely matches the specified distribution when the Position refinement factor is 10 (red) than when it is 0 (blue).

Particles are released on a coarse mesh with a Gaussian distribution of initial coordinates. The distribution of particle positions more closely matches the specified distribution when the Position refinement factor is 10 (red) than when it is 0 (blue).

Particles are released on a coarse mesh with a Gaussian distribution of initial coordinates. The distribution of particle positions more closely matches the specified distribution when the Position refinement factor is 10 (red) than when it is 0 (blue).

Charge Exchange Collisions

You can now add two new collision types to the Collisions node: Resonant Charge Exchange and Nonresonant Charge Exchange.

The Resonant Charge Exchange node is used when energetic ions undergo charge exchange reactions with ambient neutral atoms of the same element or molecules of the same substance. The Nonresonant Charge Exchange feature is used when the ionized and neutral species are of different elements or substances. In both cases, after the collision, it is possible to continue tracking the ionized species, neutral species, or both.

In a charge exchange cell, an energetic proton beam (red) propagates through a gas cell (light gray) that is maintained at a higher pressure than its surroundings. The resulting charge exchange collisions create fast, neutral hydrogen (blue) and slow-moving argon ions (green). In a charge exchange cell, an energetic proton beam (red) propagates through a gas cell (light gray) that is maintained at a higher pressure than its surroundings. The resulting charge exchange collisions create fast, neutral hydrogen (blue) and slow-moving argon ions (green).

In a charge exchange cell, an energetic proton beam (red) propagates through a gas cell (light gray) that is maintained at a higher pressure than its surroundings. The resulting charge exchange collisions create fast, neutral hydrogen (blue) and slow-moving argon ions (green).

Particle Beam Improvements

New options are available in the Particle Beam feature to make the transverse position and velocity distributions easier to specify. This makes it much easier to release beams with phase space ellipses of a certain size, shape, and orientation. The equation display has been improved and augmented with images to provide a better indication of what the various options do.

Sampling Orientation Velocity Specification Image
Uniform Upright Twiss parameters
Uniform Not upright Twiss parameters
Uniform Upright Ellipse dimensions
Uniform Not upright Ellipse dimensions
Gaussian Upright Twiss parameters
Gaussian Upright Twiss parameters
Gaussian Upright Ellipse dimensions
Gaussian Not upright Ellipse dimensions

Particle Counters

A Particle Counter feature is a domain or boundary feature that provides information about particles arriving on a set of selected domains or surfaces from a release feature. Such quantities include the number of particles transmitted, transmission probability, transmitted current, mass flow rate, and more. This feature, new with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.2, provides convenient results expressions that can be used in the Filters node of the Particle Trajectories plot, which allows only the particles that reach the particle counter selection to be visualized.

The following variables are provided by the Particle Counter feature, with the feature tag <tag>:

  • <tag>.Nfin
    • The number of transmitted particles from the release feature to the particle counter at the final time.
  • <tag>.Nsel
    • The number of transmitted particles from the release feature to the particle counter.
  • <tag>.alpha
    • The transmission probability from the release feature to the particle counter.
  • <tag>.rL
    • A logical expression for particle inclusion. This can be set in the Filter node of the Particle Trajectories plot in order to visualize the particles that connect the release feature to the counter.
  • <tag>.It
    • The transmitted current from the release feature to the particle counter. This variable is only available for the Charged Particle Tracing interface when the particle release specification is set to Specify current.
  • <tag>.mdott
    • The transmitted mass flow rate from the release feature to the particle counter. This variable is only available for the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface when the particle release specification is set to Specify mass flow rate.

If the Particle Counter feature is a Particle Beam feature in the Charged Particle Tracing interface, additional variables for the average position, velocity, and energy of the transmitted particles are available.

Particle-Matter Interactions

You can now model the interaction of energetic ions with solid matter using the dedicated Particle-Matter Interactions feature. This feature supports two subfeatures for different types of interactions:

  • Ionization loss is used to model the continuous loss of energy as ions interact with electrons in the target material.
  • Nuclear stopping is used to model the deflection of energetic ions by target nuclei.

As the initial kinetic energy of ions is increased, their interaction with solid material becomes dominated by ionization loss instead of stochastic nuclear interactions. As a consequence, highly energetic ions tend to follow nearly straight paths, whereas less energetic ions follow more random paths. As the initial kinetic energy of ions is increased, their interaction with solid material becomes dominated by ionization loss instead of stochastic nuclear interactions. As a consequence, highly energetic ions tend to follow nearly straight paths, whereas less energetic ions follow more random paths.

As the initial kinetic energy of ions is increased, their interaction with solid material becomes dominated by ionization loss instead of stochastic nuclear interactions. As a consequence, highly energetic ions tend to follow nearly straight paths, whereas less energetic ions follow more random paths.

New Tutorial: Ion Range Benchmark

The Ion Range Benchmark model simulates the passage of energetic protons through silicon with both ionization losses and nuclear scattering. The initial energy of the protons is varied using a parametric sweep from 1 keV to 100 MeV.

The average path length of the protons is compared to published values of the ion range under the continuous slowing down approximation (CSDA) as well as the projected range in the initial direction of motion. Simulated and experimental data agree well.

Comparison of computed path length (red) to experimental measurements of the ion range under the continuous slowing down approximation (CSDA) and the projected range. Comparison of computed path length (red) to experimental measurements of the ion range under the continuous slowing down approximation (CSDA) and the projected range.

Comparison of computed path length (red) to experimental measurements of the ion range under the continuous slowing down approximation (CSDA) and the projected range.

New Tutorial: Sensitive High-Resolution Ion Microprobe (SHRIMP)

The Sensitive High-Resolution Ion Microprobe (SHRIMP) is used to transmit ions of a given initial energy and specified charge-to-mass ratio by subjecting an incoming beam to appropriately tuned electric and magnetic forces. The beam is first sent through a curved sector with a radial electric force, then through a second curved sector with a uniform magnetic flux density.

This tutorial model utilizes the Particle Beam feature of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software to examine the performance of the high-precision spectrometer, where only a fraction of the incoming beam is transmitted to the detector. The model calculates the transmission probability and visualizes the nominal trajectory of the transmitted beam.

An ion beam in the SHRIMP is subjected to a radial electric field (red) followed by a uniform magnetic flux density (blue). The color of the beam indicates the particle velocity norm. An ion beam in the SHRIMP is subjected to a radial electric field (red) followed by a uniform magnetic flux density (blue). The color of the beam indicates the particle velocity norm.

An ion beam in the SHRIMP is subjected to a radial electric field (red) followed by a uniform magnetic flux density (blue). The color of the beam indicates the particle velocity norm.