电池与燃料电池模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版针对“电池与燃料电池模块”的用户引入了新增的反应流多物理场接口,用于耦合气体和液体中的流体流动和反应;新增单粒子电池接口,简化锂离子电池和金属氢-镍电池的建模; 扩展了锂离子电池和二元电解液电池接口的功能,引入了快速装配选项,提升了求解器默认设定,以及高和低 SOC 的数值稳定性。请阅读下文进一步详细了解“电池与燃料电池模块”的所有更新。

新增单粒子电池接口

新的单粒子电池接口提供了一种更为简便方法来模拟电池,包括锂离子电池和二元电解液电池。描述电池的控制方程通常适用于低和中等电池水平,既可以在全局定义(导致小的计算负载),也可以在几何中局部定义。局部选项可以用于研究大型电池包中的非均匀温度分布效应。

单粒子方法在计算上更有效,在中等负载时很精确。这就可以用来在相对较小的计算成本下模拟电池包的复杂三维装配,其中在电池包的三维描述中的每个点上使用简单的单粒子电池模型来处理放电和充电行为。

使用新的单粒子电池接口的“App 库”示例的路径为:
Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/li_battery_single_particle

新增反应流多物理场接口

为了加强对气体和液体中流体流动和反应的研究,新的反应流多物理场接口将单相流浓物质传递接口相结合。与之前作为单独的接口使用相比,现在可以更好地控制每个物理场接口中的设置以及这些接口之间的多物理场耦合。

通过使用新的反应流耦合功能,单独或同时求解任意耦合接口的过程已得到显著改善。这对于反应流来说非常重要,可以生成稳定的初始条件,或者测试计算结果受耦合影响的程度。反应流多物理场接口支持层流和湍流反应流,以及多孔介质中的流动和反应。

使用新的反应流多物理场接口的“App 库”示例的路径为: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Mass_and_Heat_Transfer/round_jet_burner

查看屏幕截图 »

浓物质传递中的新功能:多孔介质传递属性

新的“多孔介质传递属性”特征使您可以研究通过多孔介质流动的溶液中的多组分传递。新功能包含用于计算有效传递属性的模型,这些传递属性依赖于材料的孔隙率以及浓混合物的传递。

使用浓物质传递接口中的新“多孔介质传递属性”特征的“App 库”示例的路径为: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Porous_Catalysts/carbon_deposition

通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。 通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。
通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。

新增 Nernst-Planck-Poisson 方程接口

新的 Nernst-Planck-Poisson 方程多物理场接口可用于在无法假定电中性的电化学双电层中研究电荷和离子分布。Nernst-Planck-Poisson 方程接口向模型添加了静电稀物质传递接口,以及电势和空间电荷密度的预定义耦合。

新增外部短路边界条件

新的“外部短路”边界条件使您可以通过外部集总电阻短接电极表面、多孔电极以及电极。例如,新的边界条件适用于研究电池中的短路,或者防腐蚀问题中较大的电化学活性互联对象。

查看屏幕截图 »

新增电化学热源多物理场节点

新的电化学热源多物理场接口提供了一个将电化学热源与传热接口耦合的可选方法。

查看屏幕截图 »

新增热力学平衡动力学类型

电极反应现在支持新的热力学平衡电极动力学类型(在二次电流分布接口中称为“首要条件”),可假定零过电压(电压损耗忽略不计)。

查看屏幕截图 »

新增对多孔和边电极中膜阻和溶解-沉积物质的支持

多孔电极边电极节点现在支持添加“膜阻”和“溶解-沉积物质”。此前,只在“电极表面”特征中支持这些功能。多孔电极中的膜阻和溶解-沉积物质可以用来模拟锂离子电池中的固体-电解质-中间相 (SEI) 的形成机理。

查看屏幕截图 »

锂离子电池二元电解液电池接口中新增的快速装配选项

通过启用多孔电极节点的粒子尺寸的快速装配选项,一些使用粒子插层的电池模型的计算时间显著减少。当电池单元中的网格单元数与粒子维度的单元数相当时,这种效应大多数在一维模型模拟。但是,当使用这个选项时,不能后处理沿着粒子维度轴的解中的结果,以及使用变化的材料属性,例如不支持粒子维度中的固体扩散系数。

查看屏幕截图 »

提升锂离子电池二元电解液电池接口中的求解器默认设置

在二维和三维空间维度,插层浓度现在放在分离式求解器的单独的分组。这个变化减少了大型问题的内存需求,以及仿真所需的计算时间。

提升锂离子电池二元电解液电池在高和低 SOC 情况下的数值稳定性

多孔电极反应节点中使用锂离子插层动力学时,提升了 SOC 值接近于 0% 和 100% 时的数值稳定性。新模型中默认使用改进的动力学方程。如果需要在老模型中使用新的动力学表达式,可以在高级插层动力学表达式设定栏启用它(仅当启用了高级物理场选项后才可见)。

查看屏幕截图 »

新教程模型:锂离子电池内部短路

在电池内部短路期间,正负电极上的材料发生内部电子互连,导致局部电流密度升高。锂离子电池中发生内部短路的原因可能是锂枝晶或压缩冲击等。内部短路时间过长会发生自放电,并导致局部温度升高。温度升高会产生严重影响,因为如果温度超出某一阈值,电解质由于放热反应开始分解,产生热失控,引起潜在的安全隐患。

本教程模型研究二个多孔电极材料之间的分离膜中发生金属丝穿透引起的局部温升。物理场设置为锂离子电池接口与传热接口的耦合。电池中的化学成分包含石墨负极和 NMC 正极,电解质为 LiPF6

锂离子电池内部短路教程模型的 App 库路径为:

Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries, Lithium-Ion/internal_short_circuit

锂离子电池中小穿透纤维周围的温度分布截面,以及纤维表面的温度。 锂离子电池中小穿透纤维周围的温度分布截面,以及纤维表面的温度。
锂离子电池中小穿透纤维周围的温度分布截面,以及纤维表面的温度。

更新教程模型:容量衰减

副反应和降解过程可能带来我们很多不希望看到的后果,导致锂离子电池的容量发生衰减。通常,老化是由于多种复杂的现象和电池中不同位置同时发生的反应所导致,而且降解速率在负载循环的各个阶段发生变化,依赖于电势、局部浓度、温度,以及电流方向。不同电池材料的寿命不同,不同材料的组合可能导致进一步加速老化,例如,电极材料“串音”。

此教程模型演示如何模拟锂离子电池的负极石墨电极的老化,其中会发生寄生固体-电解质-界面 (SEI) 生成反应,产生可循环锂的不可逆损失。模型还包括了由于电极颗粒上增长的 SEI 膜的电阻引起的电势损耗增长效应,以及用于电解质电荷转移的电解质体积分数减少效应。

该教程模型从之前的 COMSOL Multiphysics® 版本更新到引入来自更近期的科学文献的老化数据。此外,引入了一个时间尺度因子,目的是减少多个循环的仿真时间。

容量衰减教程模型的“App 库”路径为:
Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/capacity_fade

1 C 放电的不同数量的老化循环中的电池电压。 1 C 放电的不同数量的老化循环中的电池电压。
1 C 放电的不同数量的老化循环中的电池电压。

Batteries & Fuel Cells Module Updates

For users of the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a brings a new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface to couple fluid flow and reactions in gases and liquids and a new Single Particle Battery interface, which simplifies modeling lithium-ion and nickel-metal hydride batteries. Expanded functionality for the Lithium-Ion Battery and Battery with Binary Electrolyte interfaces includes a fast assembly option, improved solver defaults, and numerical stability for high and low SOCs. Browse all of the updates to the Batteries & Fuel Cells Module in more detail below.

New Single Particle Battery Interface

The new Single Particle Battery interface offers a simplified approach for modeling various kinds of batteries, including lithium-ion and nickel-metal hydride batteries. The governing equations, which describe the battery, are typically valid for low- and medium-current levels and may be defined either globally (resulting in a small computational load) or locally in the geometry. The local option can be used to study the effects of uneven temperature distribution in large battery packs.

The single-particle approach is computationally efficient and accurate at moderate loads. This allows for modeling complex 3D assemblies in battery packs at a relatively low computational cost, with the discharge and recharge behaviors supplied by the simple single-particle model at every point in the three-dimensional description of the battery pack.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Single Particle Battery interface: Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/li_battery_single_particle

New Reacting Flow Multiphysics Interface

To enhance the study of fluid flow and reactions in gases and liquids, the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface combines the Single-Phase Flow and Transport of Concentrated Species interfaces. Previously available as a standalone interface, the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface gives better control of the settings in each physics interface as well as the multiphysics coupling between them.

Using the new Reacting Flow coupling, the process of solving any of the coupled interfaces separately, or at the same time, has been significantly improved. For reacting flow, this is important in order to generate suitable initial conditions or to test how the results are affected by coupling. The Reacting Flow multiphysics interface supports both laminar and turbulent reacting flows, as well as flow and reactions in porous media.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface:

Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Mass_and_Heat_Transfer/round_jet_burner

View screenshot »

New Functionality in Transport of Concentrated Species: Porous Media Transport Properties

The new Porous Media Transport Properties feature enables you to study multicomponent transport in a solution flowing through a porous medium. The new functionality includes models for computing effective transport properties that are dependent on the porosity of the material in combination with transport in concentrated mixtures.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Porous Media Transport Properties feature in the Transport of Concentrated Species interface:

Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Porous_Catalysts/carbon_deposition

The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction. The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction.
The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction.

New Nernst-Planck-Poisson Equations Interface

The new Nernst-Planck-Poisson Equations multiphysics interface can be used to investigate charge and ion distributions within an electrochemical double layer, where charge neutrality cannot be assumed. The Nernst-Planck-Poisson Equations interface adds the Electrostatics and Transport of Diluted Species interfaces to a model, together with predefined couplings for potential and space charge density.

New External Short Boundary Condition

The new External Short boundary condition lets you short circuit Electrode Surfaces, Porous Electrodes, and Electrodes through an external lumped resistance. The new boundary condition is suitable for studying short circuiting in batteries, for instance, or for interconnecting large, electrochemically active objects in corrosion protection problems.

View screenshot »

New Electrochemical Heat Source Multiphysics Node

The new Electrochemical Heat Source multiphysics interface offers an optional way to couple the electrochemical heat sources with a heat transfer interface

View screenshot »

New Thermodynamic Equilibrium Kinetics Type

Electrode reactions now support a new Thermodynamic Equilibrium electrode kinetics type (known as Primary Condition in the Secondary Current Distribution interface), which assumes zero overpotential (negligible voltage losses).

View screenshot »

New Support for Film Resistance and Dissolving-Depositing Species in Porous and Edge Electrodes

The Porous Electrode and Edge Electrode nodes now support the addition of Film Resistances and Dissolving-Depositing Species. Previously, this was only supported in the Electrode Surface feature. Film resistances and dissolving-depositing species in porous electrodes can, for instance, be used to model solid-electrolyte-interphase (SEI) formation in lithium-ion batteries.

View screenshot »

New Fast Assembly Option in the Lithium-Ion Battery and Battery with Binary Electrolyte Interfaces

By enabling Fast assembly in particle dimension in the Porous Electrode node, the computational time for some battery models using particle intercalation is significantly reduced. The effect is most pronounced in 1D models, when the number of mesh elements in the battery elements are comparable to the number of elements in the particle dimension. However, when using this option, it is not possible to postprocess data from the solution along the particle dimension axis, and the use of varying material properties, such as the solid diffusion coefficient in the particle dimension, is not supported.

View screenshot »

Improved Solver Defaults in the Lithium-Ion Battery and Battery with Binary Electrolyte Interfaces

In the 2D and 3D space dimensions, the intercalating concentrations are now put into separate groups in a segregated solver. This change reduces the memory requirements for large problems as well as the computation time for your simulations.

Improved Numerical Stability for High and Low SOCs in the Lithium-Ion Battery and Battery with Binary Electrolyte Interfaces

Numerical stability when using Lithium insertion kinetics in the Porous Electrode Reaction node has been improved for SOC values close to 0% and 100%. The improved kinetics formulation is used by default for new models. In order to use the new kinetics expression in an old model, enable it in the Advanced Insertion Kinetics Expression Settings section (only shown when Advanced Physics Options is enabled).

View screenshot »

New Tutorial Model: Internal Short Circuit of a Lithium-Ion Battery

During an internal short circuit of a battery, the two electrode materials are internally and electronically interconnected, giving rise to high local current densities. Internal short circuits may occur in a lithium-ion battery due to, for instance, lithium dendrite formation or a compressive shock. A prolonged internal short circuit results in self discharge in combination with a local temperature increase. The latter effect is important because the electrolyte may start to decompose by exothermic reactions if the temperature reaches above a certain threshold, causing thermal runaway with potential health and safety hazards.

This tutorial model investigates the local temperature rise due to the occurrence of a penetrating metallic filament in the separator between the two porous electrode materials. The physics are set up using the Lithium-Ion Battery interface coupled to the Heat Transfer interface. The battery chemistry consists of a graphite negative electrode and an NMC positive electrode with an LiPF6 electrolyte.

Application Library path for the Internal Short Circuit of a Lithium-Ion Battery tutorial model:

Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries, Lithium-Ion/internal_short_circuit

A cross section of the temperature distribution in a lithium-ion battery around a small penetrating filament and the temperature at the surface of the filament. A cross section of the temperature distribution in a lithium-ion battery around a small penetrating filament and the temperature at the surface of the filament.
A cross section of the temperature distribution in a lithium-ion battery around a small penetrating filament and the temperature at the surface of the filament.

Updated Tutorial Model: Capacity Fade

Side reactions and degradation processes may lead to a number of undesirable effects, causing capacity loss in lithium-ion batteries. Typically, aging occurs due to multiple complex phenomena and reactions that occur simultaneously at different places in the battery, and the degradation rate varies between certain stages during a load cycle, depending on potential, local concentration, temperature, and the direction of the current. Different cell materials age differently, and the combination of different materials may result in further accelerated aging due to, for instance, “crosstalk” electrode materials.

This tutorial demonstrates how to model aging in the negative graphite electrode in a lithium-ion battery, where a parasitic solid-electrolyte-interface (SEI) forming reaction results in an irreversible loss of cycleable lithium. The model also includes the effect of increasing potential losses due to the resistance of the growing SEI film on the electrode particles, as well as the effect of a reduced electrolyte volume fraction on the electrolyte charge transport.

This tutorial model has been updated from the previous version of COMSOL Multiphysics® to include more recent aging data from scientific literature. Additionally, a timescale factor has been introduced in order to reduce the simulation time for multiple cycles.

Application Library path for the Capacity Fade tutorial model:

Batteries_and_Fuel_Cells_Module/Batteries,_Lithium-Ion/capacity_fade

Cell voltage during a 1 C discharge for a different number of aging cycles. Cell voltage during a 1 C discharge for a different number of aging cycles.
Cell voltage during a 1 C discharge for a different number of aging cycles.