CFD 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版针对“CFD 模块”的用户引入了可加快特定非等温流仿真计算的新选项,易于在 CFD App 中引入重力作用的能力以及将 Boussinesq 近似方程用于建模不可压缩非等温流的选项等。请阅读下文进一步详细了解 CFD 模块的完整更新。

弱可压缩流选项

当流体的密度随压力而产生的变化可忽略不计时,可压缩性的新选项弱可压缩流可用于非等温流。对于大多数马赫数低于 0.3 的流体来说满足这种情况。使用此选项代替可压缩流 (Ma < 0.3)选项的优势在于,在瞬态仿真中不再需要求解以声速流动的压力波。这允许使用较大的时间步长,从而加快计算速度。

使用新选项“弱可压缩流”求解的置换通风基准问题。绘图显示了等值面、表面以及速度场流线上的温度 (K)。 使用新选项“弱可压缩流”求解的置换通风基准问题。绘图显示了等值面、表面以及速度场流线上的温度 (K)。
使用新选项“弱可压缩流”求解的置换通风基准问题。绘图显示了等值面、表面以及速度场流线上的温度 (K)。

对于“不可压缩流”选项,参考值 用于定义流体属性,如 。对于新选项弱可压缩流,流体属性为温度的函数 (最好取自“传热”接口),而不是压力。因此,。对于可压缩流 (Ma<0.3)选项, 都用于计算流体属性。注释 (Ma < 0.3) 表示稳定性和边界条件可能不适合较高的马赫数,即使对完全压缩格式的连续性、动量和能量方程进行求解也是如此。

流动接口中定义可压缩性时使用弱可压缩流选项的“App 库”示例的路径为:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Heat_Exchangers/heat_exchanger_ni
CFD_Module/Non-Isothermal_Flow/displacement_ventilation

新增重力属性和特征

单相流非等温流接口现在提供重力属性。选中包含重力复选框后,会在流体流动接口处于活动状态的所有域上添加等于 的体积力,且模型树中显示“重力”特征。“重力”属性添加了一个选项,可在指定压力类型边界条件的位置(例如,出口、开边界或边界应力条件)补偿静水压力。

可以定义一个参考位置,以便定义压力和温度采用其参考值。参考位置用于边界条件特征进行静水压力补偿。例如,为“出口”边界选中静水压力补偿选项后,等于 的压力分布将添加到出口处用户定义的压力。对于不可压缩流,该补偿是精确的,而对于其他两个可压缩性选项,则提供出口处压力剖面图的近似情况。此外,还有一个选项可使用约化压力,例如,在压力因变量定义中自动包含静水压力。

使用层流接口中包含重力选项的“App 库”示例的路径为:

CFD_Module/Single-Phase_Tutorials/gravity_tutorial

 
因盐浓度不连续性而产生的锁放重力流仿真。

非等温流的 Boussinesq 近似

当您使用已定义热膨胀系数的材料模拟不可压缩非等温流时,会自动添加带线性温度依赖性的浮力,而所有流体属性(例如,密度、粘度和导热系数)保持不变。这通常称作 Boussinesq 近似,是非等温流应用领域的常用建模方法。作为使用内置材料指定线性化点的替代方法,您可以在非等温流多物理场节点中显式定义参考密度和热膨胀系数。

从下方加热的平行板之间对流的温度(上)和速度大小(下),使用 Boussinesq 近似模拟。 从下方加热的平行板之间对流的温度(上)和速度大小(下),使用 Boussinesq 近似模拟。
从下方加热的平行板之间对流的温度(上)和速度大小(下),使用 Boussinesq 近似模拟。

风扇特征的涡流

涡流选项现在可以选作入口处的“流动”方向。风扇下游的涡流通过设置旋转速率和涡流比确定,后者由流动的角速度与叶片角速度的比值来定义。

导管入口处放置的风扇下游产生的涡流。 导管入口处放置的风扇下游产生的涡流。
导管入口处放置的风扇下游产生的涡流。

压力功子特征现在可用于多孔介质中的传热

多孔介质流体部分的温度可能会受其压力变化做功的影响。为了在模型中反映出这一情况,“压力功”特征已更新,除支持自由流体流动之外,还支持多孔介质,并且现在可用作多孔介质节点的子特征。

新的反应流多物理场接口

为加强对气体和液体中流体流动和反应的研究,新的反应流多物理场接口结合了单相流接口和浓物质传递接口。新的反应流多物理场接口之前作为单独的接口使用,现在可以更好地控制每个物理场接口中的设置以及这些接口之间的多物理场耦合。

通过使用新的反应流耦合,单独或同时求解任意耦合接口的过程得到了显著改进。对于反应流,这一点至关重要,由此可以生成稳定的初始条件或测试结果受耦合影响的程度。反应流多物理场接口支持层流和湍流反应流,以及多孔介质中的流动和反应。

使用新的反应流多物理场接口的示例“App 库”路径: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_withMass_and_Heat_Transfer/roundjet_burner

浓物质传递中的新功能:多孔介质传递属性

新的“多孔介质传递属性”特征使您可以研究通过多孔介质流动的溶液中的多组分传递。新功能包含用于计算有效传递属性的模型,这些传递属性依赖于材料的孔隙率以及浓混合物的传递。

使用浓物质传递接口中的新“多孔介质传递属性”特征的“App 库”示例的路径为: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Porous_Catalysts/carbon_deposition

通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。 通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。
通过“多孔介质传递属性”特征研究的固体 Ni-Al2O3 催化剂上甲烷的热分解反应器中的孔隙率分布。孔隙率随着分解反应中形成烟尘堆积而降低。

浓物质传递接口中的伪时间步进

浓物质传递接口新增的伪时间步进功能显著改善了稳态研究求解器的收敛速率。这在物质通量以对流为主(Péclet 数较大)时特别有利,例如,在湍流反应流中。

CFD Module Updates

For users of the CFD Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a brings a new option for faster computations of certain nonisothermal flow simulations, the ability to easily account for gravity in CFD applications, the option to use the Boussinesq approximation for modeling incompressible nonisothermal flow, and more. Review all of the CFD Module updates in further detail below.

Weakly Compressible Flow Option

The new Weakly compressible flow option for Compressibility can be used for nonisothermal flow when density variations with respect to pressure are negligible. This is the case for the majority of flows at Mach numbers less than 0.3. The advantage of using this option instead of the Compressible flow (Ma < 0.3) option is that pressure waves, traveling at the speed of sound, need not be resolved in time-dependent simulations. This allows for a larger time step to be used, resulting in faster computations.

Displacement ventilation benchmark problem solved using the new weakly compressible flow option. The plot shows temperature (K) on isosurfaces, surfaces, and on the streamlines for the velocity field. Displacement ventilation benchmark problem solved using the new weakly compressible flow option. The plot shows temperature (K) on isosurfaces, surfaces, and on the streamlines for the velocity field.
Displacement ventilation benchmark problem solved using the new weakly compressible flow option. The plot shows temperature (K) on isosurfaces, surfaces, and on the streamlines for the velocity field.

For the Incompressible flow option, the Reference values and are used to define the fluid properties, such as and . For the new Weakly compressible option, the fluid properties are functions of the temperature (preferably taken from a Heat transfer interface), but not the pressure. Hence, and . For the Compressible flow (Ma<0.3) option, both and are used to evaluate the fluid properties. The notation (Ma < 0.3) indicates that the stabilization and boundary conditions may not be suitable for higher Mach numbers, although the fully compressible form of the continuity, momentum, and energy equations is solved.

Application Library path for examples that use the Weakly compressible flow option when defining Compressibility in the Flow interfaces:
Heat_Transfer_Module/Heat_Exchangers/heat_exchanger_ni
CFD_Module/Non-Isothermal_Flow/displacement_ventilation

New Gravity Property and Feature

A gravity property is now available for the Single-Phase Flow and Non-Isothermal Flow interfaces. When you select the Include gravity check box, a volume force equal to is added on all domains where the fluid flow interface is active, and a Gravity feature appears in the model tree. The Gravity property adds an option to compensate for the hydrostatic pressure where a pressure-type boundary condition is specified, such as an Outlet, Open Boundary, or Boundary Stress condition.

There is a possibility to define a reference position that defines where the pressure and temperature take their reference values. The reference position is used by the boundary condition features to compensate for the hydrostatic pressure. For example, when the option to compensate for the hydrostatic pressure is selected for an Outlet boundary, a pressure distribution equal to is added to the user-defined pressure on the outlet. This compensation is exact for incompressible flow, while for the other two compressibility options, it provides a good approximation of the pressure profile on the outlet. Additionally, there is an option to use the reduced pressure, for example, to automatically include the hydrostatic pressure in the definition of the dependent variable for pressure.

Application Library path for an example that uses the Include gravity option in the Laminar Flow interface: CFD_Module/Single-Phase_Tutorials/gravity_tutorial

 
Simulation of a lock-release gravity current generated by a salinity discontinuity.

The Boussinesq Approximation in Nonisothermal Flow

When you are simulating incompressible nonisothermal flow using a material for which the coefficient of thermal expansion is defined, a buoyancy force with a linear temperature dependence is automatically added, while all fluid properties (such as density, viscosity, and thermal conductivity) remain constant. Generally referred to as the Boussinesq approximation, it is a popular modeling approach for nonisothermal flow applications. As an alternative to specifying the linearization point using a built-in material, you can define the reference density and coefficient of thermal expansion explicitly in the Non-Isothermal Flow Multiphysics node.

Temperature (top) and velocity magnitude (bottom) for convection between parallel plates heated from below, simulated using the Boussinesq approximation. Temperature (top) and velocity magnitude (bottom) for convection between parallel plates heated from below, simulated using the Boussinesq approximation.
Temperature (top) and velocity magnitude (bottom) for convection between parallel plates heated from below, simulated using the Boussinesq approximation.

Swirl Flow for the Fan Feature

An option for Swirl flow can now be chosen as a Flow direction at an inlet. The swirl on the downstream side of the fan is determined by setting the rotation rate and a swirl ratio, defined by the angular velocity of the flow compared to that of the blades.

Swirl flow generated on the downstream side of a fan placed at the inlet to a duct. Swirl flow generated on the downstream side of a fan placed at the inlet to a duct.
Swirl flow generated on the downstream side of a fan placed at the inlet to a duct.

Pressure Work Subfeature Now Available for Heat Transfer in Porous Media

The temperature of the fluid part of a porous medium can be influenced by work done on it by pressure changes. In order to reflect this in models, the Pressure Work feature has been updated to support porous media in addition to free fluid flow and is now available as a subfeature of the Porous Medium node.

New Reacting Flow Multiphysics Interface

To enhance the study of fluid flow and reactions in gases and liquids, the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface combines the Single-Phase Flow and Transport of Concentrated Species interfaces. Previously available as a standalone interface, the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface gives better control of the settings in each physics interface as well as the multiphysics coupling between them.

Using the new Reacting Flow coupling, the process of solving any of the coupled interfaces separately, or at the same time, has been significantly improved. For reacting flow, this is important in order to generate suitable initial conditions or to test how the results are affected by coupling. The Reacting Flow multiphysics interface supports both laminar and turbulent reacting flows, as well as flow and reactions in porous media.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Reacting Flow multiphysics interface: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Mass_and_Heat_Transfer/roundjetburner

New Functionality in Transport of Concentrated Species: Porous Media Transport Properties

The new Porous Media Transport Properties feature enables you to study multicomponent transport in a solution flowing through a porous medium. The new functionality includes models for computing effective transport properties that are dependent on the porosity of the material in combination with transport in concentrated mixtures.

Application Library path for an example that uses the new Porous Media Transport Properties feature in the Transport of Concentrated Species interface: Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_Porous_Catalysts/carbon_deposition

The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction. The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction.
The porosity distribution in a reactor for the thermal decomposition of methane on a solid Ni-Al2O3 catalyst is studied using the Porous Media Transport Properties feature. The porosity decreases as soot forms in the decomposition reaction.

Pseudo Time Stepping in the Transport of Concentrated Species Interface

The new pseudo time-stepping functionality for the Transport of Concentrated Species interface significantly improves the convergence rate for the solvers for stationary studies. It is specifically beneficial when the flux of species is dominated by advection (large Péclet numbers), for example, in turbulent reacting flows.