疲劳模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版本针对“疲劳模块”的用户引入了新增的 Dang-Van 模型,专门用于快速和精确地模拟可压缩载荷、接触疲劳、亚表层疲劳及剥落。一些新增及扩展的教程模型演示了这个新特征的应用。请查阅下文,了解更多疲劳模块的更新细节。

亚表层疲劳建模

新版本中,基于应力的疲劳模型家族得到了扩展,新增了 Dang-Van 模型。这个新增的模型通过静水应力将压缩状态的敏感性结合到了疲劳预测。因此 Dang-Van 模型适用于计算可压缩载荷和接触疲劳,可以预测在观测到剥落之前的亚表层疲劳发展,例如,轴承和轨道应用。

表面硬化材料中的亚表层疲劳,基于 Dang-Van 模型计算。 表面硬化材料中的亚表层疲劳,基于 Dang-Van 模型计算。
表面硬化材料中的亚表层疲劳,基于 Dang-Van 模型计算。

Dang-Van 模型可以在一维、二维和三维上进行计算。然而,对亚表层疲劳建模时,最合适的做法是在三维求解域级别进行求解。疲劳分析可能会消耗大量的时间,因为最大应力通常位于表层下10-100毫米,为此需要在这个深度进行精细的离散,以便获得精确的结果。此外,如果接触载荷沿着曲面进行传递,同样也需要沿着两个曲面的精细网格。而且,当在多处理器上进行计算时,可以很方便地进行并行计算,缩短计算时间。

显示亚表层疲劳建模和 Dang-Van 模型的“App 库”示例的路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/standing_contact_fatigue
Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/shaft_with_fillet
Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/linear_guide

疲劳模型参数化

绝大多数疲劳模型的设定选项已经参数化,这意味着可以将参数和变量赋给疲劳模型设定,并且在参数化研究中计算它们对疲劳的影响。只有两个选项无法实现参数化:累积损伤特征中的平均值柱数范围柱数

显示疲劳模型中参数化用法的“App 库”示例的路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Life/bracket_fatigue

应力因子的参数化研究用来改变不同环境和制造条件下的 SN 曲线。 应力因子的参数化研究用来改变不同环境和制造条件下的 SN 曲线。

应力因子的参数化研究用来改变不同环境和制造条件下的 SN 曲线。

新增教程模型:长期接触疲劳

长期接触疲劳测试是一个用来测试亚表层裂缝增长的方法。在这种测试中,一个球形物体压在试样材料上,经历高和低压力载荷循环。在此期间不会发生平移运动。

经过一段时间后,可以在平面物体的表面上观察到表层裂缝,而进一步分析则表明亚表层级别出现了很多裂缝。表层通常进行硬化处理,使得表层的材料属性与其他区域的材料属性存在较大差别。这种表面硬化过程影响了物体的材料强度、硬度,以及疲劳属性,并且引入了沿物体厚度方向的残余应力。

可以观察到三个清晰的疲劳影响材料层。最靠近表面的层,样品具有很强的壳层,而在核中,材料基本未受到影响。在这两层中间,是一个过渡层,材料属性和残余应力具有很大的梯度。所有这些效应都在加载循环仿真中组合在一起。

在这个示例中,使用了 Dang-Van 模型进行仿真。结果显示的应力中包含硬化工艺过程的残余状态和随着球形物体压入时产生的塑性变形的结构力学响应。通常只在第一个加载循环中发生塑性变形,在接下来的加载循环中只有弹性变形。因此第二个加载循环可以被看作是稳定的加载循环,并且用于后续的疲劳研究。

演示长期接触疲劳的示例的“App 库”路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/standing_contact_fatigue

表面硬化材料在峰值载荷时的有效应力。最大应力位于表层之下。在过渡层和核层之间还可以观察到最大的局部应力。 表面硬化材料在峰值载荷时的有效应力。最大应力位于表层之下。在过渡层和核层之间还可以观察到最大的局部应力。

表面硬化材料在峰值载荷时的有效应力。最大应力位于表层之下。在过渡层和核层之间还可以观察到最大的局部应力。

新增教程模型:线性导轨中的滚动接触疲劳

当线性导轨受到的载荷超出了制造商的额定值时,需要考虑接触载荷是否会产生疲劳剥落。在这个系统分析中,分析了整个导轨,研究在轨道上发生的最大破坏接触载荷。因为剥落通常在亚表层级别引发,因此基于 Dang-Van 模型进行了疲劳分析。

在曲面上的运动接触载荷进行疲劳分析需要受控的网格,其单元尺寸必须足够小,以便能够正确地解析表面上的接触压力。并且,因为我们分析的是滚动接触,其接触压力沿着表面动态变化,因此整个接触行程区都需要由小网格组成。此外,接触分析中的最大剪切应力出现在亚表层级别,因此需要在模型厚度方向使用细化的网格。

在此模型中演示了处理此类难题的技术。

演示线性导轨中滚动接触疲劳的示例的“App 库”路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/linear_guide

受到滚动接触疲劳的线性导轨仿真模型中使用的网格。 受到滚动接触疲劳的线性导轨仿真模型中使用的网格。

受到滚动接触疲劳的线性导轨仿真模型中使用的网格。

更新教程模型:带倒角的非比例载荷曲轴的疲劳分析

这个教程模型基于 Dang-Van 模型进行了扩展,三个基于应力的模型(Findley、Matake 和 Dang-Van)的结果进行了比较,并在案例文档中对差异进行了讨论。

更新的教程模型的“App 库”路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/shaft_with_fillet

更新教程模型:支架-疲劳分析

支架疲劳分析教程模型已扩展为参数化研究,演示了如何逐步执行疲劳分析的参数化计算,这可以作为学习如何使用这种特征的良好起始教程。

更新的支架教程模型的“App 库”路径:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Life/bracket_fatigue

Fatigue Module Updates

For users of the Fatigue Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a brings the new Dang-Van model, which is tailored for the quick and accurate modeling of compressive loads, contact fatigue, subsurface fatigue, and spalling. A number of new and extended tutorial models demonstrate applications of this new feature. Learn more about the Fatigue Module updates here.

Subsurface Fatigue Modeling

The stress-based fatigue model family has been extended to include the Dang-Van model. This new model incorporates the sensitivity of the compressive state into the fatigue prediction via hydrostatic stress. The Dang-Van model is therefore suitable for the evaluation of compressive loads and for contact fatigue. The model can predict subsurface fatigue development prior to spalling that is observed in, for example, bearing and rail applications.

Subsurface fatigue in a surface-hardened material, evaluated based on the Dang-Van model. Subsurface fatigue in a surface-hardened material, evaluated based on the Dang-Van model.
Subsurface fatigue in a surface-hardened material, evaluated based on the Dang-Van model.

The Dang-Van model can be evaluated on entities in 1D, 2D, and 3D. Yet, when modeling subsurface fatigue, an evaluation on the 3D domain level is most suitable. The fatigue analysis can, however, become time consuming, since the highest stresses are usually located about 10-100 micrometers below the surface, and an accurate solution requires a fine discretization throughout the depth. Additionally, if the contact load is transferred along curved surfaces, a fine mesh is again required along the two surface dimensions. However, computations are easily parallelized and the evaluation time decreases when computing on multiple processors.

Application Library paths for examples that show subsurface fatigue modeling and the Dang-Van model:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/standing_contact_fatigue
Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/shaft_with_fillet
Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/linear_guide

Parameterization of the Fatigue Models

Most of the fatigue model setting options have been parameterized. This means that parameters and variables can be assigned to fatigue model settings and their influence on fatigue can be evaluated in a parametric study. Only two options cannot be parameterized: the Number of mean value bins and Number of range bins in the Cumulative Damage feature.

Application Library path for an example that shows the use of parameterization in a fatigue model:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Life/bracket_fatigue

A parametric study of the stress factor used to modify the SN curve for different environmental and manufacturing conditions. A parametric study of the stress factor used to modify the SN curve for different environmental and manufacturing conditions.

A parametric study of the stress factor used to modify the SN curve for different environmental and manufacturing conditions.

New Tutorial Model: Standing Contact Fatigue

A standing contact fatigue test is a procedure used for testing crack growth on the subsurface level. In such a test, a spherical object is pressed against the tested materials and cycled between a high and low compressive load. No translational movement between the two occurs.

After a period of time, surface cracks can be observed on the flat object's surface, while further analysis of the component reveals multiple cracks that are present on the subsurface level. The surface is originally hardened, which changes the material properties of the surface in comparison to the material properties of the rest of the object. This surface hardening procedure affects the material strength, hardening, and fatigue properties of the object, while residual stresses are also introduced throughout the depth of the object.

Three distinct layers of fatigue-affected material can be observed. Closest to the surface, the specimen has a strong case layer, while in the core, the material has unaffected material properties. In between these layers, there is a transition layer where both the material properties and the residual stress have strong gradients. All of these effects are incorporated in the simulation of the load cycle.

In this example, fatigue is simulated using the Dang-Van model. The results show stresses that are a combination of the residual state from the hardening process and the structural response to the plastic deformation arising from the indentation of the spherical object. Plasticity occurs only during the first load cycle, while subsequent load cycles are elastic in nature. The second load cycle can therefore be seen as a stable load cycle and is used in the subsequent fatigue study.

Application Library path for the example tutorial model that demonstrates standing contact fatigue:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/standing_contact_fatigue

The effective stress in a surface-hardened material at the peak load. The highest stresses are found just below the surface. There is also a local stress maximum at the interface between the transition layer and the core. The effective stress in a surface-hardened material at the peak load. The highest stresses are found just below the surface. There is also a local stress maximum at the interface between the transition layer and the core.

The effective stress in a surface-hardened material at the peak load. The highest stresses are found just below the surface. There is also a local stress maximum at the interface between the transition layer and the core.

New Tutorial Model: Rolling Contact Fatigue in a Linear Guide

When a linear guide is loaded above the manufacturer's specification limit, one concern is whether the contact loads will introduce fatigue spalling. In this system analysis, the entire guide has been analyzed and the mostly damaging contact load has been identified to occur on a rail raceway. Since spalling is initiated by a fatigue crack on the subsurface level, a fatigue evaluation based on the Dang-Van model is performed.

The fatigue evaluation of a moving contact load on a curved surface requires a controlled mesh. The elements' sizes must be small enough to correctly resolve the contact pressure on the surface. And, as we are analyzing a rolling contact, the contact pressure is dynamic along the surface so that the entire area of the traveling contact must consist of small elements. Moreover, the largest shear stresses in a contact analysis are found on the subsurface level, so that a fine mesh is also required throughout the depth of the model.

A technique for handling such a challenge is demonstrated in this model.

Application Library path for the example model that demonstrates rolling contact fatigue in a linear guide:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/linear_guide

Mesh used in a simulation of a linear guide subjected to rolling contact fatigue. Mesh used in a simulation of a linear guide subjected to rolling contact fatigue.

Mesh used in a simulation of a linear guide subjected to rolling contact fatigue.

Updated Tutorial Model: Fatigue Analysis of a Non-Proportionally Loaded Shaft with a Fillet

This tutorial model has been extended with the fatigue prediction based on the Dang-Van model. The results of the three stress-based models, Findley, Matake, and Dang-Van, are subsequently compared with each other and the differences are discussed in the documentation.

Application Library path for the updated tutorial model:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Based/shaft_with_fillet

Updated Tutorial Model: Bracket — Fatigue Evaluation

The Fatigue Evaluation of a Bracket tutorial model has been extended with a parametric study. The extension demonstrates, step-by-step, how to perform a parametric study of a fatigue analysis, which is a good starting point to learn how to use this feature.

Application Library path for the updated bracket tutorial model:

Fatigue_Module/Stress_Life/bracket_fatigue