波动光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.2a 版本针对“波动光学模块”的用户引入了新的偏振域特征,更易于非线性频率混合与非线性参数化过程的仿真,改进了电磁波,波束包络接口中的灵活性等。阅读下文进一步详细了解“波动光学模块”的所有更新。

偏振域特征

通过新的“偏振”域特征可以耦合不同的频域接口。这简化了非线性频率混合的仿真,例如,总和及差集频率生成;以及非线性参数化过程。“偏振”特征可用作电磁波,频域电磁波,波束包络接口的子节点。

使用“偏振”域特征的“App 库”示例的路径:

Wave_Optics_Module/Verification_Examples/second_harmonic_generation_frequency_domain

新 App:偏振光束分光器

偏振光束分光器立方体由两个直角棱柱组成,交界面上有一个电介质涂层。立方体传输一部分入射波,同时反射另一部分。对光束分光器使用这个立方体设计代替板设计的优势在于,可避免重影。

这个新的 App 可以演示基本 MacNeille 设计,由包含交替的高和低折射率的层对组成,可以从中选择用多少层来组成分光器。可以在电介质堆叠中输入棱柱和层的折射率,可以直接输入,也可以通过预定义的材料列表输入。

除此之外,还可对各种波长或点半径执行扫描。App 中显示总电场模、给定波长或点半径和偏振的一次波和二次波的电场模。还可以表征为反射率和透射率。

“App 库”路径:

Wave_Optics_Module/Applications/polarizing_beam_splitter

偏振光束分光器 App 的屏幕快照。右侧的图形窗口显示从左侧入射的光束,由应用于两个棱柱之间边界的薄膜堆栈向上反射。可对波长或点半径执行参数扫描。除了几何和网格,图形窗口中还可以显示电场、反射率和透射率以及折射率分布。 偏振光束分光器 App 的屏幕快照。右侧的图形窗口显示从左侧入射的光束,由应用于两个棱柱之间边界的薄膜堆栈向上反射。可对波长或点半径执行参数扫描。除了几何和网格,图形窗口中还可以显示电场、反射率和透射率以及折射率分布。

偏振光束分光器 App 的屏幕快照。右侧的图形窗口显示从左侧入射的光束,由应用于两个棱柱之间边界的薄膜堆叠向上反射。可对波长或点半径执行参数扫描。除了几何和网格,图形窗口中还可以显示电场、反射率和透射率以及折射率分布。

用户定义的波矢明细表

新版本中,“设置”窗口中新增的用户定义的波矢明细表选项栏使得电磁波,波束包络物理场接口更加灵活易用。有了这个功能,您可以在想要指定用户定义相位时正确地设置完美匹配层 (PML) 域的波矢。在这种情况下,使用缺省设置可能有问题。在相明细表类型中选择用户定义后,您将看到新的用户定义的波矢明细表栏,使您可以在完美匹配层等域中指定特殊设置。

更新的 App:表面等离激元线光栅分析仪

基于表面等离子激元的电路应用于表面等离子激元芯片、光产生和纳米刻蚀等领域。表面等离激元线光栅分析仪 App 将介电基底上表面等离激元光栅的折射系数、镜面反射以及一阶衍射作为入射角的函数进行计算。

模型描述光栅的单位单元,其中使用 Floquet 周期性边界条件。通过后处理功能,您可以扩展单位单元数量,并将可视化提取到第三个维度。

App 中内置了将平面波的入射角从法向角扫掠到光栅结构上的光栅角的功能。在 App 中,您还可以改变导线半径以及单位单元的周期或尺寸。可以改变的其他参数为偏振的波长和方向。

App 可以呈现选定入射角的多个光栅周期的电场模结果、入射波矢及所有反射和透射模式的波矢,以及反射率和透射率。

“App 库”路径:

Wave_Optics_Module/Applications/plasmonic_wire_grating

表面等离激元线光栅分析仪 App 计算透射和反射波的衍射系数以及介电基板上线光栅的第一和第二衍射级。可以改变波长、偏振、材料属性、波周期和半径。 表面等离激元线光栅分析仪 App 计算透射和反射波的衍射系数以及介电基板上线光栅的第一和第二衍射级。可以改变波长、偏振、材料属性、波周期和半径。

表面等离激元线光栅分析仪 App 计算透射和反射波的衍射系数以及介电基板上线光栅的第一和第二衍射级。可以改变波长、偏振、材料属性、波周期和半径。

新教程模型:频域中的二次谐波发生

在电磁光谱的可见和接近可见部分的短波长部分生成激光发射比在长波长部分难。非线性频率混合使得从现有激光波长生成新的短波长更加方便。

此教程模型描述的是二次谐波发生 (SHG) 过程,其中,基频光通过可生成二次谐波频率光的非线性光学属性晶体进行传递。

教程模型通过两个电磁波,频域接口中各自的“域偏振”特征进行物理场的耦合,一个针对基波,另一个针对二次谐波。

结果显示能量从基波传输到二次谐波,导致基波幅值降低,而二次谐波的幅值从零开始,在通过晶体传播过程中增加。结果与通过慢变包络近似 (SVEA) 得到的分析解进行比较。

“App 库”路径:

Wave_Optics_Module/Verification_Examples/second_harmonic_generation_frequency_domain

基波(上)和二次谐波(下)电场 y 偏振的绘图。请注意,二次谐波的幅值随传播而增加,因为能量从基波传向二次谐波。从绘图中还可以明显看出二次谐波的波长是基波的一半。 基波(上)和二次谐波(下)电场 y 偏振的绘图。请注意,二次谐波的幅值随传播而增加,因为能量从基波传向二次谐波。从绘图中还可以明显看出二次谐波的波长是基波的一半。

基波(上)和二次谐波(下)电场 y 偏振的绘图。请注意,二次谐波的幅值随传播而增加,因为能量从基波传向二次谐波。从绘图中还可以明显看出二次谐波的波长是基波的一半。

新教程模型:单比特全息图

当两个相干光束相交时,会显示一个干涉图。如果这种情况发生在对光敏感且强度大于特定曝光阈值的材料中,干涉图在材料中将记录为折射率的调制,并且会生成全息图。

在教程模型中,一个光束从左侧边界进入全息材料,而另一光束从顶部边界进入,模拟包含数据记录和检索的逐位全息数据存储。在记录过程中,两个激光束相交,形成干涉条纹图样,记录为包含单比特数据的全息图。

“App 库”路径:

Wave_Optics_Module/Gratings_and_Metamaterials/single_bit_hologram

记录过程中的干涉图绘图。参考光束从左侧入射,对象光束从顶部入射。左侧绘图表示两个光束中的总电场,而右侧绘图表示两个干涉光束中的强度分布。 记录过程中的干涉图绘图。参考光束从左侧入射,对象光束从顶部入射。左侧绘图表示两个光束中的总电场,而右侧绘图表示两个干涉光束中的强度分布。

记录过程中的干涉图绘图。参考光束从左侧入射,对象光束从顶部入射。左侧绘图表示两个光束中的总电场,而右侧绘图表示两个干涉光束中的强度分布。

Wave Optics Module Updates

For users of the Wave Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.2a brings a new Polarization domain feature for easier simulation of nonlinear frequency mixing and nonlinear parametric processes, increased flexibility in the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interface, and more. Review all of the Wave Optics Module updates in further detail below.

Polarization Domain Feature

Different frequency-domain interfaces can be coupled with the new Polarization domain feature. This simplifies simulations of nonlinear frequency mixing, like sum- and difference-frequency generation; and nonlinear parametric processes. The Polarization feature is available as a subnode for the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain and the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interfaces.

Application Library path for an example utilizing the Polarization Domain feature:

Wave_Optics_Module/Verification_Examples/second_harmonic_generation_frequency_domain

New App: Polarizing Beam Splitter

Polarizing beam splitter cubes consist of two right-angled prisms where a dielectric coating is applied to the intermediate surface. The cube transmits part of the incident wave while reflecting the other part. An advantage of using this cube design, instead of a plate design, for beam splitters is that ghost images are avoided.

This new app demonstrates the basic MacNeille design, which consists of pairs of layers with alternating high and low refractive indices, and where you can select how many layers will make up your splitter. You can enter refractive indices for the prisms and the layers in the dielectric stack, either directly or through a predefined material list.

Sweeps can be performed over a range of wavelengths or spot radii. The app displays the norm of the total electric field and the electric field for the first and second wave for a given wavelength or spot radius and polarization. Also presented is the reflectance and transmittance.

Application Library path:

Wave_Optics_Module/Applications/polarizing_beam_splitter

Screenshot of the Polarizing Beam Splitter app. The graphics window to the right displays the beam, incident from the left, that is reflected upwards by the thin-film stack applied to the boundaries between two prisms. Parameter sweeps over the wavelength or the spot radius can be performed. The electric field, the reflectance and transmittance, and the refractive index profiles can be displayed in the graphics window, in addition to the geometry and the mesh. Screenshot of the Polarizing Beam Splitter app. The graphics window to the right displays the beam, incident from the left, that is reflected upwards by the thin-film stack applied to the boundaries between two prisms. Parameter sweeps over the wavelength or the spot radius can be performed. The electric field, the reflectance and transmittance, and the refractive index profiles can be displayed in the graphics window, in addition to the geometry and the mesh.

Screenshot of the Polarizing Beam Splitter app. The graphics window to the right displays the beam, incident from the left, that is reflected upwards by the thin-film stack applied to the boundaries between two prisms. Parameter sweeps over the wavelength or the spot radius can be performed. The electric field, the reflectance and transmittance, and the refractive index profiles can be displayed in the graphics window, in addition to the geometry and the mesh.

User-Defined Wave Vector Specification

More flexibility has been added to the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes physics interface by way of a new section in the Settings window called User Defined Wave Vector Specification. This was added so that you are able to set the wave vector correctly for perfectly matched layer (PML) domains when you want to specify a User defined phase. The default settings can be erroneous in that situation. By selecting User defined in the Type of phase specification list, you will see the new User Defined Wave Vector Specification section, which allows you to specify special settings in, for example, the Perfectly Matched Layer domains.

Updated App: Plasmonic Wire Grating Analyzer

Surface plasmon-based circuits are being used in applications such as plasmonic chips, light generation, and nanolithography. The Plasmonic Wire Grating Analyzer application computes the coefficients of refraction, specular reflection, and first-order diffraction as functions of the angle of incidence for a plasmonic wire grating on a dielectric substrate.

The model describes a unit cell of the grating, where Floquet boundary conditions define the periodicity. Postprocessing functionality allows you to expand the number of unit cells and extract the visualization into the third dimension.

Built into the app is the ability to sweep the incident angle of a plane wave from the normal angle to the grazing angle on the grating structure. The app also allows you to vary the radius of a wire as well as the periodicity or size of the unit cell. Further parameters that can be varied are the wavelength and orientation of the polarization.

The application presents results for the electric field norm for multiple grating periodicity for selected angles of incidence, the incident wave vector and wave vectors for all reflected and transmitted modes, and the reflectance and transmittance.

Application Library path:

Wave_Optics_Module/Applications/plasmonic_wire_grating

The Plasmonic Wire Grating Analyzer app computes diffraction efficiencies for the transmitted and reflected waves and the first and second diffraction orders for a wire grating on a dielectric substrate. The wavelength, polarization, material properties, wave periodicity, and radius can be changed. The Plasmonic Wire Grating Analyzer app computes diffraction efficiencies for the transmitted and reflected waves and the first and second diffraction orders for a wire grating on a dielectric substrate. The wavelength, polarization, material properties, wave periodicity, and radius can be changed.

The Plasmonic Wire Grating Analyzer app computes diffraction efficiencies for the transmitted and reflected waves and the first and second diffraction orders for a wire grating on a dielectric substrate. The wavelength, polarization, material properties, wave periodicity, and radius can be changed.

New Tutorial Model: Second Harmonic Generation in the Frequency Domain

It is more difficult to generate laser emissions in the short-wavelength part of the visible and near visible part of the electromagnetic spectrum than in the long-wavelength part. Nonlinear frequency mixing makes it easier to generate new short wavelengths from existing laser wavelengths.

This tutorial model describes the second harmonic generation (SHG) process, where light at the fundamental frequency is passed through a crystal with nonlinear optical properties that generates light at the second harmonic frequency.

The tutorial model couples the physics from two Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interfaces — one for the fundamental wave and one for the second harmonic — by using the Domain Polarization feature for each interface.

Results show that energy is transferred from the fundamental to the second harmonic wave, causing the amplitude for the fundamental wave to decrease, whereas the amplitude for the second harmonic wave starts at zero and increases during the propagation through the crystal. These results are compared against the analytical solution from the slowly varying envelope approximation (SVEA).

Application Library path:

Wave_Optics_Module/Verification_Examples/second_harmonic_generation_frequency_domain

Plot of the y-polarization of the electric field for the fundamental wave (top) and the second harmonic wave (bottom). Notice that the amplitude for the second harmonic wave increases with propagation, as energy is transferred to it from the fundamental wave. It is also evident from the plot that the wavelength of the second harmonic wave is half that of the fundamental wave. Plot of the y-polarization of the electric field for the fundamental wave (top) and the second harmonic wave (bottom). Notice that the amplitude for the second harmonic wave increases with propagation, as energy is transferred to it from the fundamental wave. It is also evident from the plot that the wavelength of the second harmonic wave is half that of the fundamental wave.

Plot of the y-polarization of the electric field for the fundamental wave (top) and the second harmonic wave (bottom). Notice that the amplitude for the second harmonic wave increases with propagation, as energy is transferred to it from the fundamental wave. It is also evident from the plot that the wavelength of the second harmonic wave is half that of the fundamental wave.

New Tutorial Model: Single-Bit Hologram

When two coherent light beams intersect, an interference pattern appears. If this occurs in a material that is sensitive to light, with intensities greater than a certain exposure threshold, the interference pattern is recorded in the material as a modulation of the refractive index and a hologram is produced.

In this tutorial model, a beam enters a holographic material from the left boundary while another enters it from the top boundary. This simulates a bit-by-bit holographic data storage, including data recording and retrieval. In the recording process, the two beams intersect and create an interference fringe pattern, which is recorded in the hologram carrying the single-bit data.

Application Library path:

Wave_Optics_Module/Gratings_and_Metamaterials/single_bit_hologram

Plot of the interference pattern during the recording process. The reference beam is incident from the left and the object beam is incident from the top. The left plot represents the summed electric field from the two beams, whereas the right plot represents the intensity pattern from the two interfering beams. Plot of the interference pattern during the recording process. The reference beam is incident from the left and the object beam is incident from the top. The left plot represents the summed electric field from the two beams, whereas the right plot represents the intensity pattern from the two interfering beams.

Plot of the interference pattern during the recording process. The reference beam is incident from the left and the object beam is incident from the top. The left plot represents the summed electric field from the two beams, whereas the right plot represents the intensity pattern from the two interfering beams.