化学反应工程模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.3 版本针对“化学反应工程模块”的用户引入了新的物理场接口,用于模拟多孔介质反应流、裂隙中的化学物质传递、使用 Nernst-Planck 方程和泊松方程的电荷分离以及电泳流。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“化学反应工程模块”的所有更新。

新的多孔介质反应流 接口

在模拟填料床、整体反应器和其他非均相催化反应器时,使用新的多孔介质反应流 多物理场接口可以明显简化这个过程。此接口中定义了多孔介质流的扩散、对流、迁移和化学物质反应,免去了单独设置各接口,然后再耦合的过程。该多物理场接口自动将模拟多相催化以及多孔介质流和稀/浓化学物质传递所需的所有耦合及物理场接口进行耦合。

由于此多物理场接口也包含了层流和湍流中的类似模拟,因此您可以切换或定义与其他各类流动模型的新耦合,而不必对相关的物理现象重新定义和设置新接口。在“设置”窗口中可以选择要模拟的流动类型以及化学物质传递,而不会丢失任何已定义的材料属性或反应动力学。这意味着,您可以在一个反应器中比较自由介质和多孔介质中不同反应器结构或模型流动,即使这两种流态连续出现亦是如此(见图)。

使用“多孔介质反应流”接口创建的多孔微反应器模型。

多孔微反应器模型,显示通过竖针注入自由流动的反应物的浓度等值面,自由流动中包含第二种反应物,随后将强制通过反应器的整装催化多孔介质部分。现在可以使用新的 多孔介质反应流多物理场接口完全定义该模型。

多孔微反应器模型,显示通过竖针注入自由流动的反应物的浓度等值面,自由流动中包含第二种反应物,随后将强制通过反应器的整装催化多孔介质部分。现在可以使用新的 多孔介质反应流多物理场接口完全定义该模型。

有关使用新多孔介质反应流 接口的示例,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_PorousCatalyst_porous_reactor

新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口

通常来说,裂隙的厚度相对于其长度和宽度尺寸非常小。在模拟这类裂隙中的化学物质传递时必须对裂隙表面的厚度进行网格剖分,而由于裂隙尺寸方面的较大差异,使其宽高比非常大,因此这类模拟通常非常困难。新的裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口将裂隙视为壳,因此仅需要将横向尺寸剖分为表面网格。

此接口支持定义平均裂隙厚度,以及裂隙可视为多孔结构这类情况中的孔隙率。对于化学物质传递,此接口中可以定义有效的扩散率模型来包含孔隙率效应。对流传递可以耦合到薄膜流动 接口,或通过包含您自己的方程来定义通过裂隙的流体流动。此外,还可以将化学反应定义为发生在裂隙内、其表面上或在裂隙周围的多孔介质中。

演示沿有些弯曲裂隙表面进行稀物质传递的示例。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布着压印的蛇形路径,可以在其中发生流动和化学物质传递。 沿轻微弯曲的裂隙表面传递稀物质。弯曲表面上遍布着压印的蛇形路径,可以在其中发生流动和化学物质传递。

多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中的裂隙表面

在含裂隙的多孔三维结构中进行传递的情况中,新的裂隙 边界条件支持模拟薄裂隙中的传递,而不必将其剖分网格为三维实体。裂隙 边界条件包含在多孔介质稀物质传递 接口中(见图),且其设置与裂隙中的稀物质传递 接口中的相同(详见前面的描述)。流体流动和化学物质传递在三维多孔介质结构以及裂隙中的流体流动和化学物质传递之间无缝耦合。

下图显示了多孔反应器模型中的浓度场。此模型中,扭曲的裂隙将反应物从左到右“泄漏”到较远的多孔催化剂中,其速度要比多孔介质传递的速度快。这是因为与周围的多孔催化剂相比,裂隙表面的平均孔隙率要高得多,从而得到更快的质量传递速率。

使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.3 版本创建的裂隙表面模型。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。 通过三维反应器的浓度等值线和裂隙表面的表面浓度。裂隙表面的质量传递速率较高,使大量未反应的物质渗透(从右到左)到催化剂床中。我们可以看到,裂隙表面从右到左浓度的变化非常小(从 0.63 变为 0.62 mol/m3)。

针对 CAPE-OPEN 数据库而更新的热力学功能

此版本对定义热力学功能以及 CAPE-OPEN 兼容的数据库中的“属性包”的用户界面作了改进,现在将“化学反应工程模块”链接到外部数据库更简单和便捷了。

新的 Nernst-Planck-Poisson 方程 接口

Nernst-Planck 方程可以描述离子在电场作用下受扩散、迁移和对流驱动在电解质中进行的传递。在电场非常大的情况中,电解质中很可能存在局部电荷分离(与电中性存在偏差),例如靠近金属或陶瓷的表面。电荷分离可以用 Nernst-Planck 方程以及表示电荷守恒的泊松方程进行模拟。最新版的“化学反应工程模块”包含新增的 Nernst-Planck-Poisson 方程 接口,用于模拟这些系统。

新的电泳输送 接口

新的电泳输送 接口可用于研究水溶剂中弱酸、碱和两性电解质的传递。此物理场接口通常用于模拟各种电泳模式,如,区带电泳、等速电泳、等电聚焦以及移动界面电泳,适用于有关多种酸-碱平衡的任意水系统。

 
将两种蛋白质的混合样本分离成两个清晰的浓度峰值的区带电泳。

新教程:区带电泳

本教程介绍电泳输送 接口,这是一个用于分离含有苯胺和吡啶样本的区带电泳问题。

如需“区带电泳”教程,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Electrokinetic_Effects/zone_electrophoresis

更新的教程:等电位分离

本例使用电泳输送 接口和层流 接口对自由流动的电泳器件中的等电位分离建模。通过电场中的迁移传递可以从含有四种不同蛋白质的流体分离其中一种蛋白质的过程。


如需更新的“等电位分离”教学模型,请访问以下“案例库”路径:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Electrokinetic_Effects/isoelectric_separation

Chemical Reaction Engineering Module Updates

For users of the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.3 brings new physics interfaces for modeling reacting flow in porous media, chemical species transport in fractures, charge separation with the Nernst-Planck equations and Poisson equation, and electrophoretic flow. See all of the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module updates in more detail below.

New Reacting Flow in Porous Media Interface

Modeling packed beds, monolithic reactors, and other catalytic heterogeneous reactors is substantially simplified with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface. This defines the diffusion, convection, migration, and reaction of chemical species for porous media flow, without having to set up separate interfaces and couple them. The multiphysics interface automatically combines all of the couplings and physics interfaces required for the modeling of heterogeneous catalysis together with porous media flow and dilute or concentrated chemical species transport.

As this multiphysics interface complements similar ones for laminar and turbulent flow, you can switch or define new couplings to other types of flow models without having to redefine and set up a new interface for the participating physical phenomena. The Settings window allows you to select the type of flow to be modeled as well as the transport of chemical species, without losing any of the defined material properties or reaction kinetics. This means that you can compare different reactor structures or model flow in both free and porous media in one reactor, even when the two regimes are connected (see image).

A porous microreactor model created with the Reacting Flow in Porous Media interface.

Model of a porous microreactor showing the concentration isosurfaces of a reactant injected through a vertical needle into a free flow containing a second reactant that is then forced through a monolithic catalytic porous media section of the reactor. The model can now be fully defined with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface.

Model of a porous microreactor showing the concentration isosurfaces of a reactant injected through a vertical needle into a free flow containing a second reactant that is then forced through a monolithic catalytic porous media section of the reactor. The model can now be fully defined with the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media multiphysics interface.

Application Library path for an example using the new Reacting Flow in Porous Media interface:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Reactors_with_PorousCatalyst_porous_reactor

New Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures Interface

Fractures have thicknesses that are very small compared to their length and width dimensions. It is often difficult to model the transport of chemical species in such fractures through having to mesh the thickness of the fracture surface, due to the aspect ratios brought about by the large differences in size dimensions. The new Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface treats the fracture as a shell, where only the transverse dimensions are meshed as a surface mesh.

The interface allows you to define the average fracture thickness, as well as the porosity in cases where the fracture is considered to be a porous structure. For the transport of the chemical species, the interface allows definition of effective diffusivity models to include the effects of porosity. Convective transport can be coupled to a Thin-Film Flow interface or through including your own equations to define fluid flow through the fracture. Additionally, chemical reactions can be defined to occur within the fractures, at its surfaces, or in a porous medium that encompasses the fracture.

An example illustrating the transport of diluted species along a somewhat curved fracture surface. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur. Transport of diluted species along a slightly curved fracture surface. The curved surface consists of an imprinted tortuous path through the surface where flow and chemical species transport occur.

Fracture Surfaces in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media Interface

In cases where transport occurs in a fractured, porous 3D structure, the new Fracture boundary condition lets you model transport in the thin fractures without having to mesh them as 3D entities. The Fracture boundary condition is included in the Transport of Diluted Species in Porous Media interface (see image) and has the same settings as in the Transport of Diluted Species in Fractures interface (described above). Fluid flow and chemical species transport are seamlessly coupled between a 3D porous media structure and fluid flow and chemical species transport in a fracture.

The image below shows the concentration field in a porous reactor model. In the model, a twisted fracture "leaks" reactants deeper into the porous catalyst, from left to right, at a faster rate than the transport through the porous media. This is because the fracture surface has a much higher average porosity compared to the surrounding porous catalyst, which gives a higher mass transport rate.

A fracture surface model, created with COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.3. Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3). Concentration contours through the 3D reactor and surface concentration in the fracture surface. The higher mass transport rate in the fracture surface gives a larger penetration (from right to left) of unreacted species into the catalyst bed. We can see that the change in concentration from right to left is very small in the fracture surface (from 0.63 to 0.62 mol/m3).

Updated Thermodynamics Functionality for CAPE-OPEN Databases

The user interface for defining thermodynamic functions and Property Packages from CAPE-OPEN compliant databases has been streamlined so that it is easier and more transparent to link the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module to external databases.

New Nernst-Planck-Poisson Equations Interface

The transport of ions in electrolytes subjected to electric fields is driven by diffusion, migration, and convection, which are described by the Nernst-Planck equations. In the cases where the electric field is large, it is possible to obtain charge separation (deviation from electroneutrality) locally in the electrolyte, for example close to metal or ceramic surfaces. Charge separation can be modeled with the Nernst-Planck equations in combination with the Poisson equation for charge conservation. The latest version of the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module contains the new Nernst-Planck-Poisson Equations interface for modeling these types of systems.

New Electrophoretic Transport Interface

The new Electrophoretic Transport interface can be used to investigate the transport of weak acids, bases, and ampholytes in aqueous solvents. The physics interface is typically used to model various electrophoresis modes, such as zone electrophoresis, isothachophoresis, isoelectric focusing, and moving boundary electrophoresis, but is applicable to any aqueous system involving multiple acid-base equilibria.

 
Zone electrophoresis separating a mixed sample of two proteins into two well-resolved concentration peaks.

New Tutorial: Zone Electrophoresis

This tutorial serves as an introduction to the Electrophoretic Transport interface. A zone electrophoresis problem is set up for separation of a sample containing aniline and pyridine.

Application Library path for the Zone Electrophoresis tutorial:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Electrokinetic_Effects/zone_electrophoresis

Updated Tutorial: Isoelectric Separation

This example applies the Electrophoretic Transport and Laminar Flow interfaces to model isoelectric separation in a free-flow electrophoresis device. A stream containing four different proteins separates into concentrated streams by means of migrative transport in an electric field.


Application Library path for the updated Isoelectric Separation tutorial model:
Chemical_Reaction_Engineering_Module/Electrokinetic_Effects/isoelectric_separation