解决方法编号: 952
标题: 避免负浓度
平台: 所有平台
适用于: COMSOL Multiphysics, CFD 模块, 化学反应工程模块, 电池与燃料电池模块, 电镀模块, 微流体模块, 地下水流模块, 搅拌器模块, 腐蚀模块, 电化学模块
版本: 所有版本
类别: 物理场, 物理场
关键字: convergence negative concentrations

问题描述

在扩散、对流和反应模型中,为什么浓度出现负值?为什么根据为扩散和对流问题施加的边界条件,得到的值低于最低可能值,或高于最高可能值?这显然在物理上是不成立的。

解决方法

造成求解结果过大或过小的原因可能有多种,您可以通过以下方式来避免这个问题:

数值误差

常见的原因是数值噪声:例如,当浓度变量接近零时,与该值(接近零)相比,数值噪声可能变得明显。如果您发现浓度出现非常小的负值,则很可能是数值噪声造成的,在不发生反应的情况下,这对扩散/对流问题的影响不大。

反应域:使用 Danckwerts 流入类型

如果有入口可以进入发生化学反应的域或壁面发生反应的域,则使用流入 条件,并在流入 设置中选择边界条件类型:通量 (Danckwerts)。该流入条件类型的目的是避免负振荡,并且还会加快反应流问题的求解速度。

Danckwerts.

有关该条件的用法示例,请参见透析分离

不连续边界和初始条件:平滑设置

局部浓度出现较小负值的另一个原因是空间或时间不连续,例如在初始条件下可能出现这种情况。比如,我们以一维瞬态对流-扩散-反应方程为例:

初始条件是域内的浓度为零,边界条件是左右边界处的浓度分别设为 1 和 0。其物理解释为,扩散前沿最初非常尖锐,随后逐渐扩散,沿正 x 方向移动。然而,有限元形函数(例如一阶拉格朗日)仅允许连续函数作为解,因此需要在时间迭代开始之前修改不连续的初始值。这通常会导致 t=0 时的解略微变小。这一现象还会影响第一时间步的结果。当 t=0 时,局部浓度显示为较小的负值,如图所示。

Negative concentrations

图 1:瞬态扩散问题的解,左侧边界条件 (c=1) 在 t=0 时在初始条件 (c=0) 下产生不连续。由于采用有限元法,最左侧单元产生了小于零的浮动。t=0 附近的下降现象有时会导致振荡和收敛问题。

通过使用 COMSOL Multiphysics 内置平滑阶跃函数中的一个,以可控方式平滑初始不连续性,可以避免这个问题。比如,在上例中,您可以使用平滑的阶跃过渡作为初始条件,而不是统一的零初始条件。有关更多信息,请参见解决方法 905:平滑阶跃过渡

当浓度接近零时,采用反应项大于零作为条件

较大的负浓度值通常表明底层数学模型没有正确描述物理现象。在这种情况下,上述方法不能解决问题。一个潜在的原因是,反应项包含恒定的汇,这是一个仅适用于大浓度的近似值。当浓度达到零时,反应项继续消耗物质,最终出现负浓度。为避免这种情况,请确保反应速率足够快,从而当物质的浓度接近零时,其物质沉降速度也接近零。例如,通过编写 max(eps^2,Q) 可以实现这一点。eps 是一个 COMSOL 内部常数,从阶数上来说,它是一个非常小的数字,相当于 10-15。如果要避免 Q 为 0,此类表达式也非常有用,比如,如果您要在几何内的某个位置应用 Q 的对数,或者符号导数存在包含除数为零的风险。

确保网格可以解析问题

网格分辨率不够会导致小于零的求解结果。如果在高对流流态(高佩克莱特数)下且包含大反应项或快速动力学(高达姆科勒数)时观察到负浓度,其根本原因往往是收敛问题。通过网格细化来研究负浓度问题有所好转还是变得更糟也很有用。如果有所改善,则问题很大程度上与网格相关。如果变得更糟,可能是数学模型引起的问题。

知识库解决方法 103中提供了几种其他的方法,可以在无需大量细化网格的情况下改善这几类问题。

相关文件

conc.mph 445 KB
  用于创建以上绘图的模型。

免责声明

COMSOL 尽一切合理的努力验证您在此页面上查看的信息。本页面提供的资源和文档仅供参考,COMSOL 对其有效性不作任何明示或暗示的声明。COMSOL 对所披露数据的准确性不承担任何法律责任。本文档中引用的任何商标均为其各自所有者的财产。有关完整的商标详细信息,请参阅产品手册。

Avoiding negative concentrations

Solution Number: 952
Title: Avoiding negative concentrations
Platform: All Platforms
Applies to: COMSOL Multiphysics, CFD Module, Chemical Reaction Engineering Module,

Batteries & Fuels Cells Module

, Electrodeposition Module, Microfluidics Module, Subsurface Flow Module, Mixer Module, Corrosion Module, Electrochemistry Module
Versions: All versions
Categories: Physics, Physics
Keywords: convergence negative concentrations

Problem Description

Why do I get negative values of the concentration in my diffusion, convection and reaction model? Why do I see values that go below, or above, their lowest, or highest, possible values based upon the boundary conditions applied for problems involving diffusion and convection? It is clearly unphysical.

Solution

There are several possible reasons for, and ways to avoid the issue of over- and under-shoot of the solution:

Numerical Errors

A common reason is numerical noise: For example, when the variable for concentration approaches zero, the numerical noise may become significant in comparison to the value (which is close to zero). If you notice negative concentrations of very small magnitude, numerical noise is probably the cause and does not affect the problem much in diffusion/convection problems without reactions.

Reacting Domains: Use Danckwerts inflow type

If you have an inlet to a domain with a chemical reaction, or a domain with reactions on the walls, use the Inflow condition, and set Boundary Condition Type: Flux (Danckwerts), available in the Inflow settings. This inflow condition type is designed to avoid negative oscillations and also to speed up the solution of reacting flow problems.

Danckwerts.

For an example how to use this, see Separation Through Dialysis.

Discontinuous Boundary and Initial Conditions: Smoothen the Settings

Another cause for locally slightly negative concentrations is a discontinuity in space or time, for instance in the initial condition. As an example, consider the one dimensional time dependent Convection-Diffusion-Reaction equation:

The initial condition is zero concentration within the domain and the boundary conditions are set to 1 and 0 concentration at the left and right boundary, respectively. The physical interpretation of this is an initially sharp, gradually diffusing front moving in the positive x-direction. However, for finite element shape functions (second order Lagrange), only continuous functions are admissible as solutions, for which reason the discontinuous initial value is modified before the time-iterations can begin. This often results in a small dip in the solution for t=0. The dip traverses to the first time steps too. The concentration will locally be slightly negative at t=0, as shown in the figure.

Negative concentrations

Figure 1: Solutions to the time-dependent diffusion problem with a boundary condition at the left (c=1) that creates a discontinuity with the initial condition (c=0) at t=0. The finite element method gives rise to a swing below zero in the leftmost element. The dip close to t=0 sometimes results in oscillations and convergence problems.

This problem can be avoided by using one of COMSOL Multiphysics's built in smoothed step functions smooths out the initial discontinuity in a controlled way. For instance, in the example above, you could, instead of the uniform zero initial condition, use a smoothed step transition as the initial condition. For more information please refer to Knowledge Base 905: Smoothed step transitions.

Condition the Reaction Term to be Larger than Zero for Concentrations Approaching Zero

A significant negative concentration often indicates that the underlying mathematical model does not correctly describe the physics. In this case the approach mentioned above does not take care of the problem. One potential cause is that you have a constant sink in your reaction term, which is an approximation that only works for large concentrations. When the concentration reaches zero, the reaction term continues to consume the species, finally resulting in negative concentration. This can be avoided by making sure that your reaction rate is such that when the concentration of the species approaches zero, then so does the species sink. This can be achieved for instance by writing max(eps^2,Q). eps is an internal COMSOL constant that is a very small number in the order or 10-15. This type of expression is also helpful if you want to avoid Q being 0, for example if you apply the logarithm to it somewhere within the geometry, or if the symbolic derivative runs a risk of containing division by zero.

Make Sure the Mesh Resolves the Problem

Insufficient mesh resolution can result in dips below zero. Make sure to always perform a mesh refinement study as described here: Knowledge Base 1261: Performing a Mesh Refinement Study.

Convergence problems are often the underlying issue when negative concentrations are observed in high convection regimes (high Peclet number) and with large reaction terms or fast kinetics (high Damköhler number).It can also be useful to investigate whether the negative concentration gets better or worse with mesh refinement. If, better the problem is most likely mesh related. If worse, it is probably the mathematical model that causes the problem.

In Knowledge Base 103: Improving Convergence of Nonlinear Stationary Models a few other approaches are presented which may alleviate these types of problems without extensively refining the mesh.

Note: The Danckwerts inflow condition requires any one of the add-on modules: CFD Module, Chemical Reaction Engineering Module, Batteries & Fuel Cells Module, Corrosion Module, Electrodeposition Module, Electrochemistry Module, or the Subsurface Flow Module Module.

Related Files

conc.mph 445 KB
  Model that creates the plot above.

Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.