Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling the skull

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi..
I am a student at the university of Nottingham. I am currently working on a project based on FEA of soft tissue during image-guided surgery.

I am not very familiar with the comsol software. Could some one please show me how to model a basic skull? all i am trying to do is to see if i can put a force inside the skull and hence see the force distribution.

Thank you

6 Replies Last Post Apr 2, 2011, 5:00 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 8, 2010, 1:04 a.m. EST
Hi

you need to get a CAD model as a geometrical (Object) representation of your skull, and then you should apply material properties to this comsol analysed geoemtry (entities) .

To start with you could say you have a half or a full hollow sphere of a given thickness. Remain to find the material properties of the skull bone, ther are a few books that could have that, check the book web page on the main Comsol site, or try a search on the forum

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi you need to get a CAD model as a geometrical (Object) representation of your skull, and then you should apply material properties to this comsol analysed geoemtry (entities) . To start with you could say you have a half or a full hollow sphere of a given thickness. Remain to find the material properties of the skull bone, ther are a few books that could have that, check the book web page on the main Comsol site, or try a search on the forum -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 14, 2010, 7:09 a.m. EST
Ivar,

My study is based on FEA of soft tissue deformation during image guided surgery.