Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Piezoelectric bimoph cantilever simulation---polarization?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear All,

This is my first time to post a question here.

I am trying to simulate a two-layer (Bimorph) PVDF cantilever: to see the deflection of the beam if voltage is applied. However, I find there is a problem if I want to realize an opposite polarizations of these two PVDF layer. Can anyone tell me how?

I am using version 3.5a.

Thank you in advance.

Fei

5 Replies Last Post Oct 20, 2011, 4:55 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 4, 2011, 1:19 a.m. EDT
Hi

V3.5 is getting "old" and vague in my reminding, but I expect that you may get around by defining two coordinate systems and then apply the physics via each coordinate system

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi V3.5 is getting "old" and vague in my reminding, but I expect that you may get around by defining two coordinate systems and then apply the physics via each coordinate system -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 4, 2011, 8:27 p.m. EDT

Dear Ivar Kjelberg,

Is there any way I can do 3D rather than 2D?

I can get access to 4.0, but will that be helpful for 3D?

Thank you!
Dear Ivar Kjelberg, Is there any way I can do 3D rather than 2D? I can get access to 4.0, but will that be helpful for 3D? Thank you!

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 5, 2011, 8:18 a.m. EDT
Hi

3D needs a lot of RAm, 3.5 can handle both, in anycase I cannot advise 4.0 today, use a more recent version if so

--
Good luck
Ivar