Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electrostatics using deformed result of solid mechanics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am new to COMSOL, using version 4.1 to simulate a flexible capacitor. The goal is to have the geometry deformed using a Solid Mechanics simulation (which I have done) then simulate the behaviour of the capacitor in Electrostatics.

I can't work out how to combine the two steps sequentially. Should they be separate Study Steps? If so, how do I pass the deformed mesh from one step to the next?

Thanks for your help!

4 Replies Last Post Apr 5, 2013, 3:12 p.m. EDT
Sergei Yushanov Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 3, 2013, 1:20 p.m. EDT
Tom,

You need to add ALE interface to model electromechanical coupling. There is example in the Comsol model library for electromagnetic and structural coupling:

www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/4461/

Regards,
Sergei
Tom, You need to add ALE interface to model electromechanical coupling. There is example in the Comsol model library for electromagnetic and structural coupling: http://www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/4461/ Regards, Sergei

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 3, 2013, 1:23 p.m. EDT
Hi

if you combine ALE + Solid+ ES you can get a combined pyiscs to solve together (there should be some examples in the model library, used to be though)