搅拌器模块

用于模拟搅拌器,搅拌反应器,以及旋转机械流动。

搅拌器模块

在这个湍流搅拌器中的搅拌是通过三叶桨和两个固定棒来实现的。 模型还考虑了自由表面的形状。

通过支持仿真的设计和优化来迎合产品需求

作为 CFD 模块的附加模块,搅拌器模块可以分析流体搅拌器和搅拌反应器。 在专业的模拟旋转机械中液体流动功能的帮助下,搅拌器模块还提供了模拟不同流体和自由表面的材料数据。

具有旋转部件的搅拌器用于很多工业过程,例如 消费产品、制药、食品,以及精细化工等。 很多情况下,搅拌器可用于很多不同目标的批处理工艺, 甚至是日常应用,其中产品的体积很小但售价很高。在所有的搅拌过程中有一点是共同的, 那就是质量、可重复性以及产品的一致性等是最重要的要素。 确保这些产品需求得到满足的一种方法 是通过仿真设计和优化搅拌工艺条件以及搅拌器。 如果模型和仿真能够被试验过程验证, 它们将相当有用,并可用于进行按比例放大计算。 一旦得到验证,这种模型 可以用来避免构建和运行试验性的按比例放大过程中的成本,而是直接从实验室尺寸到全尺寸设计。


更多图片:

  • 非等温搅拌: 使用旋转机械,非等温流接口模拟的搅拌和加热的流体。 片图说明温度场,箭头和带状图显示流动方向。 非等温搅拌: 使用旋转机械,非等温流接口模拟的搅拌和加热的流体。 片图说明温度场,箭头和带状图显示流动方向。
  • 挡板搅拌器: 四叶桨碟形底挡板搅拌器截面上的流线和速度大小。 挡板上的颜色比例表示压力,片图显示速度矢量的模,流线显示流动方向。 挡板搅拌器: 四叶桨碟形底挡板搅拌器截面上的流线和速度大小。 挡板上的颜色比例表示压力,片图显示速度矢量的模,流线显示流动方向。
  • 冻结转子: 冻结转子特征用来模拟非牛顿流体的搅拌, 它可以用于几何中没有障碍物(如挡板)的搅拌器,所需的计算资源较少。 冻结转子: 冻结转子特征用来模拟非牛顿流体的搅拌, 它可以用于几何中没有障碍物(如挡板)的搅拌器,所需的计算资源较少。

流体搅拌仿真

很多应用都需要化工和流体搅拌,包括混合物质, 例如批量进行化学反应和连续搅拌釜式反应器,或者进行稳态溶解、结晶、沉淀, 吸收,或萃取等工艺。 基于旋转机械的搅拌器包含一个桨叶和一个可引入其他部件(例如挡板)的容器。 这些部件通常已经预置好,您可以根据所需的工艺选择不同的桨叶和容器。 很多情况下,桨叶 具有互换性,可以根据需要在一个相同的容器内用于不同的流体或搅拌。

模拟旋转机械流体流动

层流

搅拌器模块包含灵活和强大的物理场接口,用来模拟受旋转机械影响的流体流动。 包括一个专用于层流的接口,用来通过求解 Navier-Stokes 方程, 模拟中低雷诺数的搅拌流动。 它可用于不可压缩和弱可压缩流动(马赫数小于 0.3), 还包含模拟非牛顿流体流动的特征。

湍流

用来模拟受旋转机械影响的湍流的物理场接口, 求解平均速度和压力场的雷诺平均 Navier-Stokes(RANS)方程。 其中有三种湍流模型, 包括 k-epsilon 模型,k-omega 模型,以及低雷诺数 k-epsilon 模型。 k-epsilon 模型可以 在精度和计算需求之间提供很好的折衷,需要更多计算资源的低雷诺数 k-epsilon 模型更精确,特别是求解物探壁面的流体流动。 k-omega 模型也可以得到更精确的结果, 特别是靠近壁面的循环区域,它比 k-epsilon 模型的鲁棒性略差。 与层流的物理场接口类似, 在湍流接口中可以模拟不可压缩和弱可压缩流动(Mach < 0.3)。

非等温流

当流体受温度梯度影响时,会出现非等温和浮力驱动流动。 搅拌器模块包含这种物理场的接口。 非等温流接口提供预定义功能, 完全耦合温度场和流场,还可以模拟马赫数小于 0.3 的旋转机械流动。 这些接口中还引入了模拟流体和固体传热的能力。 旋转机械,非等温流接口 可用于层流和利用前面描述的湍流模型的湍流。

反应流

受旋转机械影响的流动中的密度和成份变化还可以受到化学反应的影响。 搅拌器模块包含了这种反应流的物理场接口。 这个接口自动地 耦合流体流动方程与浓物质传递接口求解的混合物密度方程。 旋转机械 控制的反应流可以模拟前面描述的湍流方程的湍流,以及层流。

模拟搅拌器和搅拌反应器的工作流

选择正确的物理场接口常常需要根据经验、 实验结果以及其他定性分析。 排除可能导致错误结果的相关物理场, 引入所有可能的贡献因素常常导致过度的计算时间。 搅拌器模块中的旋转机械接口帮助您 设定各种复杂性的模拟。 如果混合的物质并不影响流体, 则建模只涉及流体流动,将将速度场作为输入值进行材料传递。 浓混合物, 反应和热变化经常影响本构方程,例如流体的密度和粘度。 当 需要评估这些这些效应时,您可以分别使用旋转流,反应流接口或旋转流,非等温接口。 更进一步,COMSOL 让您还可以在已经预置好的接口中添加其他的物理场接口, 例如描述结构力学的接口,实现定制仿真。

搅拌器模块接口

搅拌器模块包含了一系列基于动量、质量和能量守恒,以及流体中的物质平衡等定律的物理场接口。各接口中预置了不同的方程和设定,对应于各流场物理机理的相应的守恒定律和表达式的组合。

这些物理场接口可以进行旋转机械中的流体仿真。 包括层流和湍流,不可压缩和弱可压缩流动,以及非牛顿流动。 附加的物理场接口 可以在流体流动方程中引入描述温度效果、反应物质,以及自由表面的项和方程。 这些流动类型的物理场接口可以用来模拟二维和三维的充分说明桨叶旋转 ,或通过冻结转子近似实现瞬态模型。

使用瞬态求解或冻结转子特征

研究受旋转机械影响的流体流动的完整的瞬态模型需要考虑 几何部件彼此之间的相对运动,是一种最精确地模拟搅拌过程的方法。 COMSOL 定义一个围绕桨叶或转子的域, 在它外面的域包含壁以及其他人造部件(例如挡板)。 然后使用滑动网格技术 来考虑两个域之间的集成。 要保证这种求解过程的精度,需要 研究搅拌器启动时的条件。 多数情况下,当试图得到搅拌器工作一段时间之后,以及在准稳态条件下的常规操作的搅拌过程, 这种方法需要大量的计算。

搅拌器模拟还提供冻结转子特征,极大地节省计算资源和时间。 这种特征模拟通过假设系统相对于旋转参考框架的拓扑固定不动或冻结来模拟旋转流动, 可以显著地减少模拟准稳态条件所需的计算资源。 使用这种特征相当于 求解稳态 Navier-Stokes 方程,其中在旋转区域中添加了离心力和 Coriolis 力。 利用 冻结转子近似适用于无挡板或其他阻碍物的搅拌器,或整个系统都在旋转,例如微流体离心分离。

然而,当系统需要详细描述转子相对于固定部件(例如挡板)旋转的几何时, 冻结转子特征仍然可以用来有效地减少计算资源和时间。 尽管冻结转子特征不能得到这种几何结构的精确解,它仍然可以提供 大体的近似解,其质量依赖于冻结和固定部件之间接近的程度。 然后,通过使用这种结果作为 初始速度场和瞬态仿真的其他参数,完整的瞬态求解或以在相当短的时间内达到准静态条件。

仿真搅拌器中的自由表面

搅拌器模拟提供了专门用来模拟流体自由表面的功能, 可以引入表面张力效应,以及自由表面和壁面之间的接触角。 使用移动网格技术,搅拌器模块可以通过模拟搅拌流体、自由表面上的流体,以及可以沿固体表面移动的固体壁面和转子表面等,之间的接触线来得到自由表面的形状。

能够模拟自由表面的部分可以在描述自由表面移动的方程中指定表面张力系数。 搅拌器模块提供一组预定义的表面张力系数库,包含一些常用流体和其他流体之间,以及流体和一些常用气体之间。 包括:

液体/气体 液体/液体
水/空气 苯/水
丙酮/空气 玉米油/水
乙酸/空气 乙醚/水
乙醇/空气 己烷/水
二甘醇/二甘醇蒸气 水银/水
二乙醚/空气 橄榄油/水
丙三醇/空气
庚烷/氮
汞/汞蒸气
甲苯/空气

搅拌器

模块化搅拌器 - 层流模板

平底搅拌器中的水混合

二维搅拌器中的非等温流动

For Modeling Mixers, Stirred Reactors, and Rotating Machinery with Fluid Flow

Mixing is performed in this turbulent mixer through a three-bladed impeller and the placement of two rods to disturb flow. The model also considers the shape of the free surface.

Meet Product Requirements via Simulation-Supported Design and Optimization

As an add-on to the CFD Module, the Mixer Module allows you to analyze fluid mixers and stirred reactors. Aided by dedicated functionality for simulating fluid flow subjected to rotating machinery, the Mixer Module also provides material data for modeling different fluids and free surfaces.

Mixers with rotating parts are used in many industrial processes, such as the production of consumer products, pharmaceuticals, food, and fine chemicals. Often, a mixer may be used in batch processes for many different purposes, even on a day-to-day basis, where products are produced at low volumes and sold at high prices.

One thing all mixing processes have in common is that quality, reproducibility, and uniformity of the products is of utmost importance. One way of making sure that these product requirements are met is to perform simulations in order to design and optimize the operation of the mixing process and the mixer itself. Models and simulations are particularly useful when they can be validated by a pilot process, and then be used for scale-up computations. Once validated, such models may be used to avoid the costs involved in building and running pilot scale processes, and instead go directly from the lab scale to full-scale production.

Additional images:

  • NON-ISOTHERMAL MIXING: Model of a fluid that is mixed and heated using the Rotating Machinery, Non-isothermal Flow interface. The slice plots indicate the temperature field and the arrow and ribbon plots the direction of flow. NON-ISOTHERMAL MIXING: Model of a fluid that is mixed and heated using the Rotating Machinery, Non-isothermal Flow interface. The slice plots indicate the temperature field and the arrow and ribbon plots the direction of flow.
  • BAFFLED MIXER: Streamlines and velocity magnitude in a cross section of a dished bottom baffled mixer with a four-bladed impeller. The color scale on the baffles represents the pressure, the slice plot shows the modulus of the velocity vector, while the streamlines show the direction of flow. BAFFLED MIXER: Streamlines and velocity magnitude in a cross section of a dished bottom baffled mixer with a four-bladed impeller. The color scale on the baffles represents the pressure, the slice plot shows the modulus of the velocity vector, while the streamlines show the direction of flow.
  • FROZEN ROTOR: The frozen-rotor feature is used to simulate the mixing of a non-Newtonian fluid. This feature can be used in mixers without geometric hindrances like baffles as it requires far less computational resources. FROZEN ROTOR: The frozen-rotor feature is used to simulate the mixing of a non-Newtonian fluid. This feature can be used in mixers without geometric hindrances like baffles as it requires far less computational resources.

Fluid Mixing Simulations

Chemical and fluid mixing may be required for a variety of purposes that include mixing species, such as to promote chemical reactions in batch and continuous stirred tank reactors, or to enable a steady dissolution, crystallization, precipitation, absorption, or extraction process. Rotating machinery-based mixers contain an impeller and a vessel design that can include components like baffles. These components are usually readily available, and your choice of impeller and vessel will depend on the intended process. Often, impellers are interchangeable and are used for different fluids or mixing requirements in the same vessel.

Modeling Fluid Flow with Rotating Machinery

Laminar Flow

The Mixer Module contains flexible and robust physics interfaces for modeling fluid flow affected by rotating machinery. This includes a specific one for laminar flow, which is used for modeling mixing flows of low to intermediate Reynolds numbers by solving the Navier-Stokes equations. It can do this for incompressible and weakly compressible flows (up to Mach 0.3), and also contains features that allow for simulations of non-Newtonian fluid flow.

Turbulent Flow

The physics interfaces applicable for modeling turbulent flow as affected by rotating machinery do so by solving the Reynolds-averaged Navier-Stokes (RANS) equations for the averaged velocity and pressure fields. Three turbulence models are available and include the k-epsilon model, the k-omega model, and the Low Reynolds number k-epsilon model. The k-epsilon model often provides a good compromise between accuracy and computational requirements while the more computationally-demanding Low Reynolds number k-epsilon model is more accurate, especially when resolving the fluid flow close to walls. The k-omega model also delivers more accurate results, particularly in recirculation regions close to walls, although it is less robust than the k-epsilon model. Similar to the physics interface for laminar flow, incompressible and compressible (Mach < 0.3) flow can be simulated in turbulent flows.

Non-Isothermal Flow

Non-isothermal and buoyancy-driven flow occurs when a fluid is affected by temperature gradients. The Mixer Module contains physics interfaces for supporting this. The Non-Isothermal Flow interfaces provide predefined functionality that fully couples the temperature and flow fields while also allowing for the simulation of the flow affected by rotating machinery up to Mach 0.3. Also included within these interfaces is the ability to model the heat transfer in fluids and solids. Rotating Machinery, Non-Isothermal Flow interfaces are available for both laminar flow and turbulent flow, utilizing the turbulent models described previously.

Reacting Flow

Density and composition variations in flows affected by rotating machinery can also arise due to chemical reactions. The Mixer Module contains a physics interface to support such reacting flows. This interface automatically couples the fluid flow equations with the mixture density, as it is solved by the Transport of Concentrated Species interface. Reacting flow as governed by rotating machinery can be simulated assuming turbulent flow, using the turbulent models described previously, as well as assuming laminar flow.

Your Workflow When Simulating Mixers and Stirred Reactors

Choosing the right physics interface to use often depends on experience, experimental results, or other qualitative analyses. Excluding relevant physics leads to the wrong results, while including all possible contributing factors often leads to excessive computation times. The Rotating Machinery interfaces available in the Mixer Module aid you in setting up simulations of varying complexity. If the species being mixed do not affect the fluid that is holding them, then a modeling approach can involve solving for the fluid flow, and then the material transport using the velocity field as an input. Concentrated mixtures, reactions, and thermal variations will often affect the constitutive quantities, such as density and viscosity, of the fluid. When these effects become appreciable you can switch to the Rotating Flow, Reacting Flow interface or the Rotating Flow, Non-Isothermal Flow interface, respectively. Taking it one step further, COMSOL lets you add other physics interfaces, such as one that describes structural mechanics, to the preexisting ones to customize your simulations.

The Mixer Module Interfaces

The Mixer Module contains a series of physics interfaces that are based on the laws of the conservation of momentum, mass, and energy as well as species material balances in fluids. Different combinations and expressions of the conservation laws, applicable to the relevant physics of the flow field, result in different equations and settings that can be accessed through the built-in physics interfaces available in the Mixer Module.

These physics interfaces allow for advanced simulations with rotating machinery acting upon fluids. This includes laminar and turbulent flow, incompressible and weakly compressible flow, as well as non-Newtonian flow. Additional physics interfaces are available that include terms and equations to describe the effects of temperature, reacting species, and free surfaces on the fluid flow equations. The physics interfaces for these types of flows allow you to simulate, in 2D and 3D, time-dependent models that account for a full description of the rotation of the impeller, or through using the frozen-rotor approximation.

Using the Time-Dependent Study or Frozen-Rotor Feature

A fully time-dependent study for fluid flow affected by rotating machinery accounts for the movement of the geometrical parts relative to each other, and is the most accurate way to simulate mixing processes. COMSOL defines a modeling domain that encompasses the impeller or rotor, and another outside of this where the walls and artifacts like baffles are found. It then uses sliding mesh technology to account for the integration between the two domains. The accuracy provided by this solution process is a necessity when the modeling of the start-up conditions of mixers is to be investigated. Often, though, this method is computationally expensive when the desired result is to simulate how the mixer will perform after a period of time, and during normal operation under pseudo steady-state conditions.

The Mixer Module also supplies a Frozen Rotor feature that assists in saving computational resources and time. This feature simulates rotating flow by assuming that the topology of the system relative to the rotating reference frame is fixed, or frozen, and significantly reduces the computational resources required to simulate the pseudo steady-state condition. Using this feature is equivalent to solving for the stationary Navier-Stokes equations where centrifugal and Coriolis forces have been added to the rotating domains. Utilizing the frozen-rotor approximation is appropriate for mixers without baffles or other hindrances, or where the entire system rotates, such as centrifugal separation in microfluidics.

Yet, when systems are geometrically such that a full description of the rotor's rotation relative to the stationary parts is required, such as a baffled mixer, the Frozen Rotor feature can still be helpful in reducing computational resources and time. While it may not reach the exact solution in such geometric configurations, use of the Frozen Rotor feature will still provide a decent approximate solution, where its quality depends on how close the frozen and stationary components are to each other. Then, by using this solution as the initial velocity field and other parameters for a transient simulation, the fully time-dependent study will reach its pseudo steady-state conditions in far less time.

Modeling Free Surfaces in Mixers

The Mixer Module provides specialized functionality for modeling free fluid surfaces in mixers. This functionality allows you to include the effects of surface tension forces and contact angles between the free surface and the walls. Using moving mesh technology, the Mixer Module allows the free surface's shape to be simulated by letting the contact line between the fluid being mixed, the fluid above the free surface, and the solid surfaces of the walls and rotor to freely move along the solid surfaces.

Part of being able to model free surfaces is to specify the surface tension coefficient in the equations describing the movement of the free surface. The Mixer Module provides a set of predefined libraries of surface tension coefficients between some common liquids and other liquids, as well as between liquids and some common gases. This includes:

Liquid/Gas Liquid/Liquid
Water/Air Benzene/Water
Acetone/Air Corn Oil/Water
Acetic Acid/Air Ether/Water
Ethanol/Air Hexane/Water
Ethylene Glycol/Ethylene glycol vapor Mercury/Water
Diethyl ether/Air Olive Oil/Water
Glycerol/Air
Heptane/Nitrogen
Mercury/Mercury vapor
Toluene/Air

Behavior of Power Law Fluids in a Mixer

Non-Isothermal Flow in a 2D Mixer