计算时间和空间积分

解决方法编号: 913
标题: 计算时间和空间积分
平台: 所有平台
适用于: 所有产品
版本: 所有版本
类别: 物理场, 物理场
关键字: time integral time-integral scalar

问题描述

如何计算空间或时间积分?如果我想要在模型中的其他位置使用这些积分结果,应该如何操作?

解决方法

COMSOL Multiphysics 架构支持您通过多种不同的方式计算空间和时间积分,您可以将其纯粹用于结果计算,也可用于在模型中引入反馈。本知识库条目涵盖了以上所有方面。

空间积分

进行积分的最常见方法是在组件 > 定义分支中添加积分类型的组件耦合。此特征会添加一个用作函数的算子名称,您可以在模型中其他任何位置进行调用。该算子可用于定义多个不同的变量,如下面的屏幕截图所示。请注意,在域上对 1 积分相当于计算该域的体积,在边界上对 1 积分可以得到表面积,沿边对 1 积分得到长度。如果您在计算解之后添加组件耦合,则必须在算子名称可用于结果计算之前更新解

积分组件耦合以及使用它定义的变量集。

如果您只想对一个量积分,那么可以优先使用探针选项,而非组件耦合。前者的设置相对容易一些,软件会自动绘制“探针”的结果。每个“探针”都定义唯一的变量名称,可用于模型中的其他任何位置。对于瞬态模型,默认情况下,软件会在求解器采用的所有时间步绘制探针。如果您在计算解之后添加探针,则需要单击“探针”设置中的更新结果按钮。

探针界面。

如果您不希望在模型中使用积分结果,而只想将积分结果用于结果计算,请转到结果 > 派生值并添加积分特征,如下面的屏幕截图所示。

通过“结果 > 派生值”进行积分。

时间积分

对于只用于结果计算的情况,您可以在结果计算中使用 timeint 算子。例如,您可以绘制 timeint(1,2,T),从而绘制表达式 T1-2 秒的积分。此外,您也可以在 timeint 算子中调用积分算子。有关 timeint 算子的附加文档,另请参见 COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual。

另一方面,如果您想要在模型中显示时间积分的结果,需要添加边界全局常微分和微分代数方程接口。举例来说,假设您已通过“全局变量”定义归一化高斯函数:

G = exp(-((t-0.5[s])/(0.1[s]*sqrt(2)))^2)/(0.1[s]*sqrt(2*pi))

如果您想对此变量进行时间积分,可以通过全局常微分和微分代数方程接口执行此操作,如下面的屏幕截图所示。定义将用于存储时间积分的变量的名称 TimeInt。将方程定义为 d(TimeInt,t)-G,表示 TimeInt 的时间导数等于 G。您需要根据要积分的量适当调整因变量和源项的单位。在求解此方程时,其算法是从初始值 TimeInt=0 开始,因此计算表达式 Gt=0 到当前时间的积分。请注意,您可以对空间积分结果进行时间积分,这意味着表达式 G 可以替换为积分算子等。

通过全局方程进行时间积分。


免责声明

COMSOL 尽一切合理的努力验证您在此页面上查看的信息。本页面提供的资源和文档仅供参考,COMSOL 对其有效性不作任何明示或暗示的声明。COMSOL 对所披露数据的准确性不承担任何法律责任。本文档中引用的任何商标均为其各自所有者的财产。有关完整的商标详细信息,请参阅产品手册。

Computing Time and Space Integrals

Solution Number: 913
Title: Computing Time and Space Integrals
Platform: All Platforms
Applies to: All Products
Versions: All versions
Categories: Physics, Postprocessing
Keywords: time integral time-integral scalar

Problem Description

How do I compute integrals over space or time? What if I want to use the result of these integrals elsewhere in my model?

Solution

The COMSOL Multiphysics architecture allows you to evaluate integrals in both space and time in several different ways, either purely for results evaluation or to introduce feedback into your model. This knowledgebase goes over all of these options.

Spatial Integrals

The most general approach to taking integrals is to add a Component Coupling of type Integration to the Component > Definitions branch. This feature adds an operator name that acts as a function and can be called anywhere else within the model. It can be used to define multiple different variables, as shown in the screenshot below. Note that integrating 1 over a domain is equivalent to evaluating the volume of that domain, integrating 1 over a boundary gives the surface area, and integrating 1 along an edge gives the length. If you add a component coupling after you have already computed the solution, you must Update Solution before the operator name will be available for results evaluation.

The integration component coupling and set of variables defined using it.

If you only want to integrate a single quantity then the Probe option can be preferred to the Component Coupling. It is a little bit easier to set up, and the results of a Probe will automatically be plotted. Each Probe defines a unique variable name that can be used anywhere else in the model. For time-dependent models probes will be plotted at all timesteps taken by the solver, by default. If you add a probe after you have already computed the solution, you will need to click the Update Results button within the Probe settings.

The probe interface.

If you do not want to use the results of the integral within your model, if you only want to evaluate integrals for results evaluation, then go to Results > Derived Values and add an integration feature, as shown in the screenshot below.

Taking an integral via Results > Derived Values

Time Integrals

For results evaluation only, use the timeint operator in results evaluation. For example, you can plot: timeint(1,2,T) to plot the integral of the expression T from 1-2 seconds. You can call integration operators within the timeint operator as well. See also the COMSOL Multiphysics Reference Manual for additional documentation on the timeint operator.

If, on the other hand, you want to make the results of a time integration available within a model, add a Domain, Boundary, Edge, or Point, or Global ODEs and DAEs interface. For example, suppose that you have defined the normalized Gaussian function via a Global Variable:

G = exp(-((t-0.5[s])/(0.1[s]*sqrt(2)))^2)/(0.1[s]*sqrt(2*pi))

If you want to take the time-integral of this variable, then you can do so via the Global ODES and DAEs interface, as shown in the screenshot below. Define the name of a variable, TimeInt that will store the time-integral. Define the equation as d(TimeInt,t)-G meaning that the time-derivative of TimeInt equals G. You will want to adjust the units of the dependent variable and the source term as appropriate for the quantities you're integrating. This equation is solved from the initial value TimeInt=0 and thus it computes the integral, from t=0 to the current time, of the expression G. Note that you can take a time integral of the results of a spatial integral, meaning that the expression G could be replaced with an integration operator, for example.

Taking a time integral via a global equation.


Disclaimer

COMSOL makes every reasonable effort to verify the information you view on this page. Resources and documents are provided for your information only, and COMSOL makes no explicit or implied claims to their validity. COMSOL does not assume any legal liability for the accuracy of the data disclosed. Any trademarks referenced in this document are the property of their respective owners. Consult your product manuals for complete trademark details.