Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

(Insanely) high temperatures in modeling Selective Laser Melting of 316L stainless steel

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,

I would like to begin this thread by saying that (a) this forum is amazing as I have been learning so much in the last days and (b) I have just started using COMSOL and I am a noob at FEA in general, so please be merciful in your comments :)

That being said, I am trying to simulate laser melting of metals but, as a first simple approach, what I am interested in is to obtain a relatively accurate temperature distribution in the melt pool that forms when a laser scans over a slab of metal.

I started my model taking inspiration from the laser_heating_Si wafer tutorial that is available online: I created a parallelepiped of material (thickness x width x length) and a heat source with a gaussian profile. I am using heat transfer module with phase change, because I want to take into account the latent heat of melting of my material. I set the initial temperature of my slab to be room T (293 K) and I impose the same constant temperature to the sides and the bottom of the slab to be maintained throughout the simulation. For what concerns the top surface, there are both heat input from the laser (it scans along "length" direction at midpoint of '"width") and heat output due to the surface's emissivity.

When I run my model I obtain a nice melt pool that moves from one end to the other of the slab, the problem is that the size of this melt pool is quite small in terms of width and depth (given the parameters that I input and my knowledge of expected width and depth values from experimental data) and its peak temperature is INSANELY high.