Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric Fields In Air - Balloon Boundary

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am looking to model the electric field given off by a steel disk held at a fixed potential in air.

I have tried drawing a large box around my model and specifying its material as air. What i really want to have is something equivalent to a Balloon boundary, where the charge at infinity balances the charge in the problem area, or the voltage is zero at infinty.

How do i specify these kinds of boundary conditions, what are the best solvers for this problem?
I am new to Comsol so apologies if this is a rather primitive question.

Thankyou.

5 Replies Last Post Nov 26, 2010, 10:01 a.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 26, 2010, 7:47 a.m. EST
I have just come across the "infinite elements" node, which i presume acts like a balloon boundary. Still strugling with my main goal which is to plot mag[E] in the space around my model.
I have just come across the "infinite elements" node, which i presume acts like a balloon boundary. Still strugling with my main goal which is to plot mag[E] in the space around my model.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 26, 2010, 8:22 a.m. EST
Hi
depending on version (v3.5 and v4) and "application modes"/"physics" choosen you have the "Infinite elements" and the PML (Perfectly Matched Layers), but check carefully the doc on how to define them (incl. coordinate system) and set up correct mesh

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi depending on version (v3.5 and v4) and "application modes"/"physics" choosen you have the "Infinite elements" and the PML (Perfectly Matched Layers), but check carefully the doc on how to define them (incl. coordinate system) and set up correct mesh -- Good luck Ivar