Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Error while calling External C function

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear users,
I'm quite new to Comsol and I'm trying to create a function of time and space which could be later used in my model. Unfortunately I cannot use a Matlab function because my version is too old so I'm trying to run an external c function. I could successfully run the case that is included in COMSOL Multiphysics
Programming Reference Manual with f=sin(x)/x and now I was trying to add a variable to the model and to plot the function.
When I call my function from Comsol I got the error "There is no function with 1 arguments", I tried to combine differently x and y but I always got the same message. I attach here the file with the function and the screenshot with the error.
Thanks to all for your help
Regards,
Matteo

2 Replies Last Post Aug 26, 2016, 8:31 a.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago Aug 26, 2016, 8:19 a.m. EDT
Hello Mateo,
Welcome to COMSOL.
As it turns out, you may be looking for a more complicated solution than necessary. You see, the COMSOL graphical user interface is interpreted, so if, for example, you want the temperature on a boundary to be equal to x*y*t (where x and y and the coordinates and t is time) then all you need to do to make that happen is type x*y*t in the GUI text field. There is no need to call an external function for something like that.
Quite advanced expressions can be entered that way. For more information on the syntax and available mathematical functions and operators, please refer to the Reference Manual, version 5.2a, Chapter 5.