Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Filling an empty space with fluid (heat transfer in solids)?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am pretty new to comsol multiphysics and I got a question.
I want to simulate the heat transfer in a high pressure vessel which is filled with
supercritical ammonia. The vessel is heated with cartridge heaters.
I chose the "heat transfer in solids" module in order to simulate the temperature distribution in the vessel.

I know that there is the opportunity to incorporate a fluid, problem is the space which should be filled with the fluid has to be a separate domain. Is there a possibility to fill an empty space with a certain fluid without having a domain for this space?

Any help would be very welcome!
Cheers
Michael

8 Replies Last Post Jan 27, 2017, 2:12 p.m. EST
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 7 years ago Jan 27, 2017, 8:58 a.m. EST
Hello Michael,
There is a functionality that allows you to close off an empty space to turn it into a domain over which you can solve equations. That functionality is called "Cap Faces". It is available in the CAD Import Module, the Design Module or in any of the LiveLink for CAD products.
See this blog post which describes it:
www.comsol.com/blogs/meshing-cap-off-for-cap-on/
Best,
Jeff
Hello Michael, There is a functionality that allows you to close off an empty space to turn it into a domain over which you can solve equations. That functionality is called "Cap Faces". It is available in the CAD Import Module, the Design Module or in any of the LiveLink for CAD products. See this blog post which describes it: www.comsol.com/blogs/meshing-cap-off-for-cap-on/ Best, Jeff

Posted: 7 years ago Jan 27, 2017, 9:16 a.m. EST

Hello Michael,