Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Displacement limit

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I'm a student in electronic engineering, and now i need to simulate an elastic material.
I'm interest at structural mechanic module with 2D axial symmetry. I need to understand the stress and strain of an ideal hookian material of unknow E (Young's modulus).
The model is a simply fill disc of Radius=0.25m and thick=0.01m with E=6kPa, nu=0.3 and rho=900 kg/m3. I set the boundary setting with Rz constrain = 0 for the lower edge and, Rr constrain = 0 for the axial symmetry edge, but I've got some problem with the upper boundary. The upper boundary is under a load of -p Pa with p parameter of parametric simulation from 0 to 100000 with step of 1000. The problem is the displacement. When the load p is too big the upper boundary don't stop run on the bottom layer but go down.
My question is: Can I limit the displacement of top boundary as the disk thick?
I try to set a displacement dependent constrain of top layer in Z-direction, but it doesn't work.

Thanks

7 Replies Last Post Feb 11, 2011, 10:49 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 11, 2011, 1:32 a.m. EST
Hi

fisrt to be sure: are you in 2D-axi mode (using a true 2D-axisymmetric analysis with a rectangular section, or are you in 3D with a axi-symmetric cylinder as domain ?

because in 2D-axi you are restraining your model such that the full stiffness tensor has specific symmetric behaviour. THis is no problem per say just to better understand.

Because if you use E, nu, rho you are also defining a specific symmetry of your stiffness tensor.

Anyhow what strikes me are your values:
the compressive stiffness of a cylindrical slab (fixed on a lower section is