Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Newbie Difficulties

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to Comsol 4 but have been getting kind of frustrated with my lack of any ability to solve my own problems due to the impenetrable error messages Comcol keeps giving me. Putting all that aside:

Would someone be so kind as to give me some guidance on the simple geometry I am trying to model below. I have two half cylindrical objects which are supposed to represent permanent magnets and I have essentially a 6 fold symmetry, so i set up a triangular boundary around the magnets within which i would like to solve for the B-fields. Seems like a pretty simple problem, so no doubt I am going wrong in some simple way.

Thanks,
Adam

7 Replies Last Post Apr 12, 2011, 9:58 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 8, 2011, 6:57 p.m. EDT
Hi

I believe it's not only a "newbie" effect, you are also using the early 4.0 that was the first after the new approach of V4. Comsol is supposed to send out the 4.2 very soon, I have heard. You should absolutely get hands on the latest version, it will make you far less frustrated!

There is already something bizarre with your geometry one of the boundaries is not selectable as it should, could also be an early version issue.

Then you need to define a material (easiest way to get a mur) or at least also define mur somewhere, also for the air.

Finally, I'm not sure you have correct symmetry conditions, you might want to use a identity pair section symmetry there