Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to create pores/holes in geometry + diffusion study?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone!

I am brand new to ComSol. For our bioengineering project, we are trying to see if particles will diffuse radially into a hollow cylindrical structure.

I am having difficulty understanding how to:
-create pores or holes on the cylinder. I want to be able to easily change the number of pores (and the size of the pores) on the structure.
-run a study that displays the concentration gradient of particles over time. (or somehow measure how many particles diffuse to the inside/center of the cylinder.

Note:
-I completed the busbar tutorial and the "creating geometries" tutorial, so that is the extent of my experience.
I was able to create a hollow cylinder of defined thickness.

Ideally:
I want to create 6 concentric cylinders. Each has the same pore density and pore size. We are trying to test this setup using a variety of pore densities, and measure when a significant amount of diffusion occurs in the innermost layer at a fixed time, t.

I have access to ComSol 4.2 (not 4.2a yet, but I believe we can run diffusion studies even without the particle tracing model).

I hope what I am asking is making sense. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. I dont know what study to use, and what parameters I would need to set in the study.

Thank you so much, and let me know if you need more information!

-Arjun

2 Replies Last Post Nov 29, 2011, 4:21 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 29, 2011, 1:29 a.m. EST
Hi