Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Model of 3D electromagnet

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

Thank you all for reading this in advance! Let me get started by saying I'm completely new to Comsol, but have been working with some CAD (SolidWorks) and simulation/physics (Matlab) software before.

My project is about finding flaws in metal structures through various techniques. Right now I am considering to purchase a license of Comsol to use for our simulation purposes. I have just received the trial package (version 4.2a) and did some tutorials (permanent magnet and 3D inductor) but to get a better feeling about Comsol would like to start with some basic simulations of my own.

Therefore I have successfully build a very basic 3d model of a steel cylinder with copper coils (Helix) wrapped around it, all encapsulated by a sphere of air. I would like to see what the magnetic field generated by the coils around the steel would like. I am using the Magnetic and Electric Fields (mef) package and from the 3d inductor example (in the library) I think I have to specify the terminal and ground of the coil in order to send a current through it. Though I am not sure why I can not seem select these, when I select the terminal and ground point (two ends of the copper coil, right?) then it says not applicable in the boundary selection box.