Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Hard Magnetic Field

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,
I am new to comsol and I am still trying to find my way through.

I am in the process of simulating the magnetic field of a geometry like the letter 'C'. The current is going to flow from the top end of the C and the ground is at the bottom of the C.

i41.tinypic.com/2ivxz6h.jpg

I am trying to get the magnetic field of this setup. The current will not be uniform thoughtout the ring so it is difficult to define the current density properly. Can anyone please guide me to get the magnetic field?
Thank you.
Regards

5 Replies Last Post Feb 17, 2012, 12:03 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Feb 16, 2012, 2:23 a.m. EST
Hi

if its a bulk connector in the chape of a "C" and you travel with a current from the two end points, the easiest is to apply a constant current sorce (terminal type) to one boundary and GND to the other, and leave COMSOL calculate the true current flow in the bulk material. But in 3D you need to get the current "in" and "out" of your volume, while still leaving air/vacuum for the field to loop around. I'm not sure how to do that as a current source cannot appear from nothing in a 3D space, you need a correct "loop"

--
Good luck
Ivar