Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Torsion problem simulation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello guys, I am new to COMSOL and I want to simulate torsion of circular shaft in comsol, As there is not any option available for direct torque application, I applied opposite (point) forces in opposite points on the end face equivalent to the torque. But there was high stress concentration around area near points. So can anyone tell me how to simulate this problem properly so that stress concentration will not be significant as in the case for point force? Thank you in advance

6 Replies Last Post Nov 19, 2020, 6:10 a.m. EST
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 4 years ago Sep 11, 2020, 10:00 a.m. EDT
Updated: 4 years ago Sep 11, 2020, 11:14 a.m. EDT

Hi,

one option is to apply a tangential distributed boundary load L to the cylinder face. If the cylinder axis is in x=y=0 and along the z-axis it can look like Lx = const * y, Ly = -const * x, Lz = 0. Adapt the const to achieve the desired torque. There may be other options too.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Hi, one option is to apply a tangential distributed boundary load L to the cylinder face. If the cylinder axis is in x=y=0 and along the z-axis it can look like Lx = const * y, Ly = -const * x, Lz = 0. Adapt the const to achieve the desired torque. There may be other options too. Cheers Edgar

Posted: 4 years ago Sep 12, 2020, 1:32 a.m. EDT