Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Convergence issue with nano pore electrodeposition model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am trying to model electrodeposition into a nanopores but am having troubles with convergence. My solution only converges to 1e3 fairly consistently even if I refine the mesh and then it starts to rise to 1e10 and then quits. I am new to comsol and electrodeposition and am doing this as a class project. I did copy a model from the library of models that was copper deposition in a trech, used all its values and then scaled it down and it wouldnt solve. I then made it axisymetric and used the same values and it still wont solve. Now I am running out of ideas. I have refined the mesh, changed the time step smaller, decreased some initial values(i0 and V) and no luck yet. I tried to attach my model but it seems i cant. If there is a way and someone knows how i would be glad to attach it. Instead I have attached a copy of my model and this is the link to the copper deposition model www.comsol.com/showroom/documentation/model/2112/
Thanks
Matt

2 Replies Last Post Jan 20, 2013, 1:48 p.m. EST

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 19, 2012, 1:56 a.m. EDT