Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Consulting the difference between different Maxwell's surface stress tensor under the force module of COMSOL post-processing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi I'm a beginner for the COMSOL. I don't understand the Maxwell's surface stress tensor in COMSOL. Who can explain to the difference between different Maxwell's surface stress tensor under the force module of COMSOL post-processing? Maxwell's surface stress tensors in this module include the Maxwell's upper / lower surface stress tensor, the Maxwell's upper / lower electric-surface stress tensor, and the Maxwell's surface stress tensor. And how to calculate the tangential electrostatic attraction force on the substrate (insulator or conductor) through these Maxwell's surface stress tensor? Thanks!

15 Replies Last Post Sep 2, 2021, 3:02 a.m. EDT
Magnus Olsson COMSOL Employee

Posted: 3 years ago Aug 11, 2021, 11:12 a.m. EDT
Updated: 3 years ago Aug 11, 2021, 11:13 a.m. EDT

In general the local surface force density on a dielectric boundary is the sum of the up and down Maxwell stress tensor variables (es.unTx+es.dnTx , es.unTy+es.dnTy , es.unTz+es.dnTz). It is really a difference but the "up" and "down" surface normal directions are accounted for in the variable definitions. On a conducting body, the fields in the conductor are zero so one of the "up" and "down" contributions vanish. If you have a license for the MEMS Module, the "Electromechanical Forces" multiphysics coupling will account for these forces and also add any volumetric forces due to gradients in the electric properties in the interior of a domain.

Best regards,

-------------------
Magnus