Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to create a function of the derivatives of my variables?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am very new to working with COMSOL, so sorry if this seems like a trivial question. I am considering the Navier-Stokes equation, which is coupled with another PDE by an additional stress tensor:

This stress tensor is dependent on the solution (and derivatives) of another PDE, which is denoted . Explicitly is given by

The tensor satisfies its own PDE. I know how to impliment this additional model type. I am having problems with coupling it to the Navier-Stokes model.

I have the following questions, if any of them would be answered I would be happy. 1. The COMSOL Laminar flow model does not permit an additional stress tensor, is there a way to change this or would I have to enter manually into the forcing term? 2. What is the best way for COMSOL to compute and utilise ? I know that I can create analytic functions, but in those models I seem to have to explictly input the derivatives of the model, eg. I cannot write An1(a,b) = b(ax)^2 + a(by)^3, I would have to write An1(a,b,ax,by) = b(ax)^2 + a(by)^3.

2 Replies Last Post Apr 7, 2022, 11:46 a.m. EDT
Mats Nigam COMSOL Employee

Posted: 2 years ago Apr 7, 2022, 11:16 a.m. EDT
Updated: 2 years ago Apr 7, 2022, 11:16 a.m. EDT

Dear Aron,