Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solving for Resistance variations in Memristor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi there,

I am trying to run an current pulse through Ag/ZnO/Pt thin film memristor struture with a probe on top and copper plate below as the ground (with a 5 nm thin Ag filament in the centre of the ZnO layer) . I want to see if the resistance of the structure changes over an extended number of cycles at high temperatures and strains.

I am very new to comsol and I thought a time dependent study should be used for a voltage pulse but I used a simple electric potential first to see if the circuit could be completed and the resistance of the stack measured but no potential seems to travel past the copper probe. I then tried this in a stationary study with a DC voltage and the potential still wouldnt travel into the first Ag layer even.

In addition the substrate at the bottom was heated and the heat flux wouldnt travel upwards into the other materials. Please have a look at the mph file and let me know why the circuit won't complete in order to calculate the resistance. Thank you.

Regards Darragh

15 Replies Last Post Sep 19, 2022, 10:15 a.m. EDT
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 2 years ago May 11, 2022, 11:44 a.m. EDT
Updated: 2 years ago May 11, 2022, 2:12 p.m. EDT

Hello Darragh,

A few things are off right off the bat:

• The effect of the geometry step labeled dif1 is to remove a cylinder you just drew. Those two steps are superfluous.

• You have set up your Electric Currents physics node such that it applies only in domain 6. You've set one of its boundaries to 3 Volts and insulated all its other boundaries, so as you would expect the entirety of domain 6 is at 3 Volts.