Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulating Strain Along a Compressed Hexagonal Cone: Seeking Advice on Constraints and Loads

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

"Hello everyone,

I am new to the Structural Mechanics module in COMSOL Multiphysics and I am facing difficulties in determining the appropriate constraints and loads for my simulation.

I would like to simulate the strain distribution along a compressed hexagonal cone. However, all the examples I have come across in the documentation involve fixing one end of the hexagonal shape.

In my case, I would like to apply compression to both the top and bottom of the hexagonal cone, as shown in the attached figures. I am wondering if there is a way to compress the object on its bottom and top sides without fixing one end.

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice on how to achieve this simulation setup.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

5 Replies Last Post May 24, 2023, 4:00 a.m. EDT
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 11 months ago May 20, 2023, 1:49 p.m. EDT

You could use a roller boundary condition on one face.

There are other options but in all cases you will probably need to suppress rigid body motion. Either use the domain constrait or think about inserting explicit constraints.

You could use a roller boundary condition on one face. There are other options but in all cases you will probably need to suppress rigid body motion. Either use the domain constrait or think about inserting explicit constraints.

Posted: 11 months ago May 21, 2023, 10:04 p.m. EDT