Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation of a sollar collector

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone

I'm a French engineering student and I need to simulate a solar collector in COMSOL multiphysics.
I build the panel with glass, air gap, copper, water and insulation but I have a problem with the simulation.
When I start the simulation there is a problem because the temperature of water does not increase.
In fact, the temperature increase only on the airgap.

Who can help me please?

Vincent

3 Replies Last Post Nov 24, 2012, 12:56 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 24, 2012, 8:20 a.m. EST
Hi

you havce a multifluid solid + radiation heat transfer I understand, bt you need to tell us a bit more how you consider these fluids, static, equation flow ... And if you do not get a heat transfer from one state to the other it is probably because you have not defined the interfaces fully. In such a model you need to consider each pysics and on each domain anc chack that all required BC and physics couplings are there.

To start somewhere: are you modelling the air flow by convection ? or only by conduction ?

--
Good luck
Ivar