Using periodic boundary conditions for tube

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello all,

I am new to using comsol and for an university assignment I have to simulate the behaviour of an IV infusion tube. So what I did so far is:

I created an tube with inner diameter of 1mm and outer diameter of 2mm and a length of 100mm. Moreover I used a boundary load at the inner surface of the tube of 100mmHg, to represent the pressure applied by a fluid, I specifically didnot have to simulate the fluid. What I did then was creating a small ring around the tube with a thickness of 0.4mm and a width of 2mm. This ring represents a force sensor, and using a boundary probe on the inside surface of the ring, I tried to find the force acting on this surface and thus what force the sensor would measure.

I am currently facing 2 problems. For the ends of the tube, I wanted to use the periodic boundary condition, to represent a really long tube, without having to simulate it. However, when doing the stationary study I immediately get the following error:

Failed to find a solution. The relative residual (0.0043) is greater than the relative tolerance. There was a warning message from the linear solver. Iterative refinement triggered. Returned solution is not converged. Not all parameter steps returned.

Therefore I used a fixed boundary condition on both ends and simulated it then. However the problem is now that for different lengths I obtain different pressures at the inside of the ring. namely: 100mm = 6749.5Pa, 200mm= 7219.2Pa, 300mm= 6369.6Pa, 400mm= 7124.1Pa, 500mm= 9434.1Pa, 600mm= 7020Pa, 700mm= 5077Pa, 800mm= 5252.6Pa, 900mm= 7466.2Pa, 1000mm=11026Pa

I first assumed that the pressure would remain the same, since the pressure doesnot change inside the tube. Moreover, there is no trend in the values and they change randomely.