Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Compressible Navier-Stokes with Non-newtonian viscosity in PDE module

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL and I've been trying to model some incompressible Navier-Stokes system with variable viscosity, a Carreau viscosity to be specific. I have used the CFD module to model this with the single phase laminar flow which also has Carreau fluid properties, and now I'd like to use the PDE module, but I have no idea how to input the equations.
I have also seen there are several ways to do it: Coefficient, General and Weak forms. I have my Navier-Stokes equations in cylindrical coordinates (better for a pipe flow) and in differential format, so my question is what would be the best way to do it and how?

Thanks in advance,
Daniel

4 Replies Last Post Jun 18, 2014, 4:43 p.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 13, 2014, 1:55 p.m. EDT
Hi,

Turns out you don't need the PDE module!! Just type ' 1+(100-1)*(1+(1*spf.sr)^2)^-0.25 ' in for mu under the fluid properties node. I would suggest using parameters for mu_inf, mu_0, lambda, and N but it is up to you.

See attached file, I would suggest doing a power law model first and compare to the analytical solution to make sure everything is working as expected.

Good luck!

Edit: I should add spf.sr is the variable name COMSOL uses for the shear rate in most fluid flow applications. If you are doing Fluid Structure Interaction you have to use fsi.sr (I think). you can always check variable names using equation view.

-- Alex