Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Fluid Piezoelectric coupling problem (unknown parameters)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie to COMSOL. Unfortunately, I'm experiencing some difficulty in trying to model a relatively simple problem in COMSOL, and I'd be really really thankful if anyone could help me out. Let me cut to the chase. I was tasked with modelling a cuboidal container with a diaphragm on top. The diaphragm is the ceiling of the container (with a finite thickness of course). Now, a Piezoelectric material (a cuboidal strip of finite thickness) is supposed to be attached to the top of the diaphragm (ceiling). In theory, when a voltage is applied to the surface of a piezoelectric material, it deforms. My task was to make it such that the diaphragm deflected downwards. So through trial and error, I found that the voltage must be applied at the top surface of the Piezoelectric material. Moving on, the container is filled with a fluid (say water or ink). (This is supposed to be a really primitive version of a Piezoelectric inkjet printhead WITHOUT THE NOZZLE :p). There is no inlet or outlet. The deflection of the diaphragm, theoretically, causes a change in pressure of the fluid which I am supposed to measure. This is the part where I'm stuck. How do I fill fluid in the container? Which physics should I use for this problem? I tried modelling a solid cuboid and assigned it to "water" and made the diaphragm and piezo material on top? But then what boundary conditions should I give for the fluid physics that I use? (say laminar flow) Should I couple a fluid physics at all? If I don't use a fluid physics, it asks me for the coupling matrix and elasticity matrix for water, both of which I couldn't find out. If I couple a fluid physics with piezoelectric physics then, I do not know wh