Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Moving mesh with automatic remeshing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello

I am new to COMSOL. I have successfully run a stationary study with coupled laminar flow, nernst planck and electrostatics. For a time dependent study I am trying to use a moving mesh to move an object with the velocity calculated in between studies. I have refined my mesh pretty much but it is giving inverted elements. The velocity value calculated is also correct. For the Automatic remeshing: it is showing "Condition for remeshing fulfilled for initial time". Please help.
Thanks.

Payel

9 Replies Last Post Jun 9, 2017, 9:27 p.m. EDT

Posted: 7 years ago Jun 7, 2017, 2:13 a.m. EDT
I'm very new to this, so this may be wrong, but I've seen this several times and I think it is because the initial conditions are far enough off from equilibrium that it has to remesh before it even completes the first iteration, which is apparently not allowed. There are several potential solutions:

1) Use adaptive meshing instead of automatic remeshing.
2) Turn down the mesh quality required for remeshing (initially set to 0.2 -- try lower quality and see if you can get it to go past the first iteration).
3) Set your system up so that it is closer to convergence from the start. (Though it sounds like this might not be your issue given the workflow you describe).
4) I suspect finer mesh will not help, but it's something else you could try.