Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Fluid flow in a 2D collapsible tube

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am really a new beginner for Comsol 4.1, and it really drive me to die!

My project is about simulating the 2D steady flow in a collapsible tube which envolves the Navier-Stokes Equation for incompressible Newtonian Fluid; Structure Mechanics and ALE moving mesh!

I try to did what a gentelmen( who is really so nice) said, I am so sorry I still feel so confused! can someone give me more suggestions!

1.the Geometry

I add the membrane part. Is it still a slab? can you check it for me? Because if the geometry is not right, next work would be sucks!

2. I try to do the physics 'laminar flow' first. As to what he said

"To get a fluid flow to run quickly in a model, you shoudl add some initial conditions on the velocity (an approximate v^2 profile across the tube section is OK, then add some pressure drop (i.e. simple analytical Poiseille value is OK) This will strongly improve your convergence."

I do not know how to do this. Is it in 'Initial Value'---Velocity Field'---when I type V^2 in the X window, it turns to be orange color.

3. In the solid mechanics physics, my equation would be
P-Pe(external pressure)+2*H*T(tension)=0
2*H=dh^2/dx^2/(1+dh^2/dx^2)^(3/2) curvature equation
But in the model the equation is
rho*du^2/dt^2-delt stress=Fv
How can I write this into the model?

Thank you so much. I am so appreciate if someone can help me, even a little!

Thank you !

1 Reply Last Post Mar 14, 2011, 3:00 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)